Big Sky Conference places 7 on Athlon Sports' Preseason FCS All-America Team

Samori Toure
Malik Flowers
Troy Andersen
Posted at 10:28 AM, Jun 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-03 13:27:28-04

(Editor's note: Big Sky Conference media release)

FARMINGTON, Utah – Seven Big Sky football players were listed on the Athlon Preseason FCS All-America Team announced Wednesday. The team consisted of 26 All-Americans representing 19 schools and 11 conferences.

Defending Big Sky Co-Champion Weber State tied for the most picks with three. Running back Josh Davis, offensive lineman Ty Whitworth and placekicker Trey Tuttle were the trio of Wildcats to earn preseason honors.

Montana wide receiver Samori Toure and kick returner Malik Flowers picked up honors for the Griz, while Montana State two-way player Troy Andersen was named as a linebacker. (Editor's note: Montana State coach Jeff Choate announced Wednesday that the Bobcats are planning to redshirt Andersen for the 2020 season.) Portland State defensive back Anthony Adams rounded out the Big Sky’s selections.

Montana and Weber State were two of five teams with multiple selections. Toure and Adams are two of seven returning All-Americans on the team.

Athlon released its Preseason FCS Top 25 Poll on Tuesday in which five Big Sky teams were ranked. Weber State earned the No. 3 spot, followed by Montana State at No. 5, Montana at No. 7, Sacramento State at No. 12, and Eastern Washington at No. 20.

Read more on Athlon here.

Athlon Sports Preseason FCS All-America Team


QB Trey Lance 6-3/221/So. North Dakota State

RB Josh Davis 5-9/195/Jr. Weber State

RB Jah-Maine Martin 5-10/215/Sr. North Carolina A&T

WR Cade Johnson 5-10/180/Sr. South Dakota State

WR Samori Toure 6-3/190/Sr. Montana

TE Dalton Kincaid 6-5/230/Jr. San Diego

OL Ty Whitworth 6-4/300/Sr. Weber State

OL P.J. Burkhalter 6-3/330/Sr. Nicholls

OL Liam Fornadel 6-4/308/Sr. James Madison

OL Drew Himmelman 6-10/315/Sr. Illinois State

OL Dillon Radunz 6-6/300/Sr. North Dakota State


DL Malik Hamm 6-3/260/Jr. Lafayette

DL Trace Mascorro 6-1/275/Sr. Sam Houston State

DL Romeo McKnight 6-5/260/Sr. Illinois State

DL Elerson Smith 6-7/245/Sr. Northern Iowa

LB Troy Andersen 6-4/233/Sr. Montana State

LB Bryson Armstrong 5-11/212/Sr. Kennesaw State

LB Willie Eubanks III 6-2/215/Sr. The Citadel

DB Anthony Adams 6-0/180/Jr. Portland State

DB Brandon Easterling 6-0/203/Sr. Dayton

DB Kordell Jackson 5-11/163/Sr. Austin Peay

DB Devon Taylor 6-1/200/Sr. Illinois State


PK Trey Tuttle 5-9/190/Sr. Weber State

P Matt McRobert 6-2/195/Sr. Sam Houston State

KR Malik Flowers 6-2/195/Sr. Montana

PR Montrell Washington 5-10/170/Sr. Samford