Montana StationsKTVQ


Devers, Kimzey move into driver’s seat at Mandan Rodeo Days

Posted at 10:00 AM, Jul 04, 2019
Five-time world champion Sage Kimzey scored 88.5 points on Dakota Rodeo’s Sitting Bull to move into first place at the 140th Mandan Rodeo Days Celebration in Mandan, North Dakota. (Photo by Jackie Jensen)

(Editor’s note: Story by Johna Cravens/PRCA)

MANDAN, N.D. – A couple of Oklahomans were the stars of the second performance of the 140th Mandan Rodeo Days Celebration. Cody Devers and Sage Kimzey drew loud cheers from the die-hard crowd of rodeo fans who braved the wet, muddy evening to watch professional rodeo.

Devers, who is currently ranked 29th in the world championship standings, lives in Balko, Okla. If his lead holds through July 4, Devers could boost his chance of qualifying for his first National Finals Rodeo (NFR).

The state of North Dakota has been good to Devers recently. He placed second at the Bob Christophersen Memorial Steer Wrestling in Killdeer in June.

Kimzey, the five-time world champion bull rider, who currently leads the 2019 standings, was the final bull rider to compete. Earlier Kolby Radley of Montpelier, Louisiana, who is currently ranked 18th and trying to qualify for his second NFR, set the pace with a score of 87.5 points on Dakota Rodeo’s Jungle Can Do.

Kimzey ended the performance on a high note when he rode Dakota Rodeo’s Sitting Bull for 88.5 points to move into first place. The Strong City, Oklahoma, cowboy has been successful at Mandan Rodeo Days previously, winning a $20,000 match with the legendary Pearl Harbor and another $7,000 at the Mandan Rodeo Xtreme Bulls in 2017.

The 140th Mandan Rodeo Days concludes July 4 with North Dakota’s largest Independence Day Parade, the final rodeo performance and the state’s largest fireworks display.

Unofficial leaders following Wednesday, June 2, 2019:

Bareback bronc riding: 1, (tie) Kaycee Feild, Genola, Utah, on Stace Smith Pro Rodeo’s Miss Dunny and Wyatt Denny, Minden, Nev., on Stace Smith Pro Rodeo’s Cactus Black, 87 points each. 3, Clayton Biglow, Clements, Calif., 85. 4, Shane O’Connell, Rapid City, S.D., 84. 5, (tie) Clint Laye, Cadogan, Alberta, and Mason Clements, Draper, Utah, 83.

Steer wrestling: 1, Cody Devers, Balko, Okla., 3.5 seconds. 2, Reed Kraeger, Elwood, Neb., 4.2. 3, Tyler Thorson, Manning, N.D., 4.3. 4, Devan Porter, Moosomin, Saskatchewan, 4.6. 5, Riley Scott Reiss, Manning, N.D., 4.7.

American freestyle bullfighting: 1, Riley McKettrick, Arcadia, Fla., 84 points. 2, Sage Seay, Hackberry, La., 79.

Team roping: 1, Jade Schmidt, Box Elder, S.D., and Jace Engesser, Spearfish, S.D., 5.5 seconds. 2, Cale Markham, Vinita, Okla., and Brye Crites, Alva, Okla., 5.9. 3, Brandon Webb, Big Wells, Texas, and Kollin VonAhn, Blanchard, Okla., 6.0. 4, Butch Levell, Fort Calhoun, Neb., and J.W. Beck, Moville, Iowa, 6.1. 5, Chance Rosencrans, Jamestown, S.D., and Jesse Frederickson, Upham, N.D., 8.2

Saddle bronc riding: 1, Tegan Smith, Winterset, Iowa, 82 points on Dakota Rodeo’s Show Down. 2, Bradley Harter, Loranger, La., 80.5. 3, Wyatt Casper, Pampa, Texas, 79. 4, Curtis Garton, Boxholm, Iowa, 78.5.

Tie-down roping: 1, Quay Howard, Canyon, Texas, 8.4 seconds. 2, Caddo Lewallen, Morrison, Okla., 8.9. 3, Dane Kissack, Spearfish, S.D., 9.1. 4, Wyatt Treeby, Hecla, S.D., 9.4. 5, Jason Vohs, Dickinson, N.D., 9.8. 6, Rex Treeby, Hecla, S.D., 9.9.

Barrel racing: 1, Jessica Routier, Buffalo, S.D., 15.38 seconds. 2, DeAnn Morgan, Hulett, Wyo., 15.57. 3. Carey Rivinius, Carson, N.D., 15.68. 4, Allene Nelson, Grassy Butte, N.D., 15.76.

Bull riding: 1, Sage Kimzey, Strong City, Okla., 88.5 points on Dakota Rodeo’s Sitting Bull. 2, Koby Radley, Montpelier, La., 87.5. 3, (tie) Wyatt Rogers, Tahlequah, Okla.; Jeff Bertus, Avon, S.D., and Toby Collins, Stephenville, Texas, 83.