Montana StationsKTVQ


NFR cowboys, stock hit Billings Saturday for Chase Hawks Memorial Roughstock Rodeo

Posted at 3:50 PM, Dec 20, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-20 20:13:28-05

BILLINGS – At least 20 cowboys who have ridden at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo are entered to compete in Billings Saturday at the 24th annual Chase Hawks Memorial Roughstock Rodeo.

Bull riders Chase Dougherty and Parker Breding finished second and third in the world standings as the NFR drew to a close last weekend in Las Vegas, and are on the day sheet for this week. Dougherty spent a season riding at Montana State. Breding is a Montana native living in Edgar.

Former world champions Kelly Timberman (bareback), Jesse Kruse, Spencer Wright and Jesse Wright (saddle bronc) are also entered.

Each December, the roughstock-only rodeo also features a share of bucking stock straight from the NFR. This year’s stock will be provided by Brookman Rodeo, Powder River Rodeo and Sankey Pro Rodeo.

The Chase Hawks Memorial Association (CHMA) provides financial assistance to individuals and families in crisis. All proceeds from Friday’s dinner/dance/auction and Saturday’s rodeo are distributed on a non-discriminatory basis in Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, and South Dakota, with priority given to requests from communities where funds are raised.

Grants are processed on a first-come, first-served basis within constraints of the budget. CHMA grants are typically less than $500. Higher amounts will be considered in extenuating circumstances on a limited basis.

Those wishing to apply or refer a family for a grant may visit the Chase Hawks Memorial Association website.

This year’s event will also serve to honor Frank Chesarek who passed away suddenly on September 1. Chesarek was well known for his vision, dedication and fundraising efforts to make the Chase Hawks event America’s top roughstock rodeo.

Saturday’s performance is set for 7 p.m. at Rimrock Auto Arena with tickets still available.

Contestant list as of Thursday, December 20:


Trenton Montero                Winnemucca, NV
Blake Smith                          Zap, ND
Jordan Pelton                      Halliday, ND
Troy Vaira                              Culbertson, MT
Austin Foss                           Terrebonne, OR
Nate McFadden                   Chadron, NE
Tanner Aus                            New London, MN
Logan Patterson                   Kim, CO
RC Landingham                     Hat Creek, AB, CAN
Ty Taypotat                           Regina, SK, CAN
Kelly Timberman                  Mills, WY
Tyler Nelson                          Victor, ID
Kenny Haworth                    Orofino, ID
Tristan Hansen                      Dillon, MT
Blade Elliot                            Centreville, AL
Tanner Phipps                      Dalton, GA
Dantan Bertsch                     Eastend, SK, CAN
Jake Stemo                            Calgary, AB, CAN
Cole Goodine                        Carbon, AB, CAN
Connor Hamilton                  Calgary, AB, CAN

Saddle Bronc:

Chase Brooks                        Belgrade, MT
Troy Crowser                        Whitewood, SD
Ty Manke                               Piedmont, SD
Chuck Schmidt                     Keldron, SD
Mitch Pollock                       Twin Falls, ID
Cole Elshere                         Faith, SD
Taygen Schuelke                  Newell, SD
Sage Newman                      Melstone, MT
Jade Blackwell                     Piedmont, SD
Sam Kelts                               Stavely, AB, CAN
Layton Green                        Meeting Creek, AB, CAN
Jesse Kruse                                           Great Falls, MT
Spencer Wright                   Milford, UT
Jesse Wright                         Milford, UT
Dawson Hay                          Wildwood, AB, CAN
Clay Elliott                              Nanton, AB, CAN
Jake Wright                           Milford, UT
JJ Elshere                               Hereford, SD
Allen Boore                           Axtell, UT
Jesse Bail                               Camp Crook, SD

Bull Riding:

Devon Mitchell                    Shepherd, MT
Dalan Duncan                       Bluffdale, UT
Connor Murnion                  Jordan, MT
Luke Gee                               Stanford, MT
Ruger Piva                             Challis, ID
Garrett Smith                        Rexburg, ID
Parker Breding                    Edgar, MT
Clayton Savage                     Yoder, WY
Josh Frost                              Randlett, UT
Riker Carter                          Stone, ID
Cory Maier                            Timber Lake, SD
Jeff Bertus                             Avon, SD
Jared Parsonage                   Maple Creek, SK, CAN
Stetson Lawerence              Williston, ND
Wacey Finkbeiner               Ponoka, AB, CAN
Matt Triplett                          Kalispell, MT
Ardie Maier                          Timber Lake, SD
Chase Dougherty                 Prineville, OR
Nevada Newman                  Melstone, MT
Tate Smith                             Litchville, ND