Montana StationsKTVQ


Stevi Hillman looks for repeat at Caldwell Night Rodeo

Posted at 2:19 PM, Aug 17, 2018

(By Susan Kanode for the Caldwell Night Rodeo)

CALDWELL, Idaho — Last year’s Caldwell Night Rodeo was a memorable experience for Stevi Hillman and barrel racing fans.

Riding MCM ImASharpGuy, Hillman set the arena record of 16.68 seconds and won the championship. When the Weatherford, Texas, barrel racer got here this year, it was Cuatro Fame, also known as “Truck” that took her round the cloverleaf pattern.

Hillman and Truck had solid performance in the first round here on Tuesday morning. They stopped the clock in 17.30 seconds to finish in second place. That added $1,653 to their earnings and set them up for their second run on Thursday night.

Again riding Truck, Hillman improved on her first round time stopping the clock at 17.17 seconds. She now is second in the overall standings with 34.47 and has a chance to win her second consecutive Caldwell Night Rodeo championship. Ivy Conrado from Hudson, Colo., leads with 34.40.

The opportunity to get a check in the bull riding is getting tougher thanks to two more qualified rides on Thursday. Eli Vastbinder, from Athens, Texas, had the high-marked ride at 86 points. That happened on Powder River Rodeo’s Chiseled and moved him into second place.

Four-time and reigning world champion Sage Kimzey from Strong City, Okla., also rode his bull. The 81.5-point effort on D&H Cattle Company’s Olaf moved him into fourth place. Walla Walla, Washington’s Derek Kolbaba leads with 89.

Rodeo competition continues here on Friday night beginning at 8 p.m. It is Patriot Night with money raised for the Caldwell Night Rodeo’s Military Relief Fund.

Second Performance –

Bareback riding: 1, Kaycee Feild, Spanish Fork, Utah, 83 points on Powder River Rodeo’s Double Bubble. 2, (tie) Cole Goodine, Carbon, Alberta, and Gavin DeRose, Kamloops, British Columbia, 80.5 each. 4, Mason Clements, Springville, Utah, 79.

Steer wrestling: 1, Hayden Hall, Touchet, Wash., 6.2 seconds.s 2, Tucker Allen, Oak View, Calif., 6.8. 3, Aaron Vosler, Cheyenne, Wyo., 14.1. 4, Hank Filippini, Battle Mountain, Nev., 20.7.

Team roping: 1, Brandon Webb, Big Wells, Texas, and Kollin VonAhn, Blanchard, Okla., 6.2 seconds. 2, Steven Duby, Melba, Idaho and Evan Arnold, Santa Margarita, Calif., 10.7. 3, Blake Teixeira, Tres Pinos, Calif., and Ross Ashford, Lott, Texas, 15.5. 4, David Temple, New Plymouth, Idaho, 16.7.

Saddle bronc riding: 1, CoBurn Bradshaw, Beaver, Utah, 82.5 points on Powder River Rodeo’s Rustlers Moon. 2, Dawson Hay, Wildwood, Alberta, 82. 3, Cort Scheer, Elsmere, Neb., 79.5. 4, Jake Wright, Milford, Utah, 77.

Tie down roping: No qualified times.

Barrel racing: 1, Stevi Hillman, Weatherford, Texas, 17.17 seconds. 2, Lynette Clyde, Heber, Utah, 17.23. 3, Brenda Mays, Terrebonne, Ore., 17.57. 4, Samantha Kerris, Haines, Ore., 17.76.

Bull riding: 1, Eli Vastbinder, Athens, Texas, 86 points on  Powder River Rodeo’s Chiseled. 2, Sage Kimzey, Strong City, Okla., 81.5.


Current Leaders –

Bareback Riding: (first round) 1, Tim O’Connell, Zwingle, Iowa, 86 points on Burch Rodeo’s Pip Squeak. 2, Connor Hamillton, Calgary, Alberta, 85.5. 3, (tie) Caleb Bennett, Tremonton, Utah, and Cody Kiser, Carson City, Nev., 84.5. 5, Clayton Biglow, Clements, Calif., 84. 6, Jessy Davis, Power, Mont., 83.5. 7, (tie) Wyatt Denny, Minden, Nev., and Kaycee Feild, Spanish Fork, Utah, 83.

               Steer wrestling: (second round) 1, Tanner Milan, Cochrane, Alberta, 4.0. 2, Blake Knowles, Heppner, Ore., 4.1. 3, Tyler Waguespack, Gonzales, La., 4.2. 4, (tie) Kyle Irwin, Robertsdale, Ala.; Hunter Cure, Holliday, Texas; Justin Shaffer, Hallsville, Texas; and Jesse Brown, Baker City, Ore.; 4.3 each. (total on two) 1, Waguespack, 8.4. 2, Cure, 8.8. 3, Knowles, 9.1. 4, Blake Mindemann, Apache, Okla., 9.3. 5, Brendan Laye, Consort, Alberta, 9.5. 6, Dirk Tavenner, Rigby, Idaho, 9.8. 7, K.C. Jones, Decatur, Texas, 9.9. 8, Kyle Irwin, Robertsdale, Ala., 10.0.

Team roping: (second round) 1, (tie) Riley and Brady Minor, Ellensburg, Wash.; and Cory Kidd, Statesville, N.C., and Caleb Anderson, Mocksville, N.C., 4.7 seconds each. 3, Kaleb Driggers, Hoboken, Ga., and Junior Nogueira, Presidente Prude, Brazil, 4.8. 4, (tie) Bubba Buckaloo, Kingston, Okla., and Tyler Worley, Yuma, Colo.; Clay Smith, Broken Bow, Okla., and Paul Eaves, Lonedell, Mo., 4.9. (total on two) 1, Smith and Eaves, 10.7. 2, Bubba Buckaloo, Kingston, Okla., and Tyler Worley, Yuma, Colo., 11.1. 3, Luke Brown, Rock Hill, S.C., and Jake Long, Coffeyville, Kan., 11.4. 4, Jake Orman, Prairie, Miss., and Will Woodfin, Marshall, Mo., 11.5. 5, (tie) Jesse Stipes, Salina, Okla., and Jake Smith, Broken Bow, Okla.; and Kolton Schmidt, Barrhead, Alberta and Cole Davison, Stephenville, Texas; 11.7 each. 7, Cyle Denison, Stephenville, Texas, and Coleby Payne, Lipan, Texas, 11.8. 8, Cody Snow, Los Olivos, Calif., and Wesley Thorp, Throckmorton, Texas, 12.4.

Saddle bronc riding: (first round) 1, 1, Mitch Pollock, Winnemucca, Nev., 87.5 points on Powder River Rodeo’s Baby Sitter. 2, (tie) Ryder Wright, Milford, Utah; Hardy Braden, Welch, Okla.; and Joe Lufkin, Sallisaw, Okla.; 86. 5, Rusty Wright, Milford, Utah; Tim Ditrich, San Luis Obispo, Calif.; and Sterling Crawley, Stephenville, Texas; 83.5. 8, CoBurn Bradshaw, Beaver, Utah, 82.5.

Tie-down roping: (second round leaders) 1, Shane Hanchey, Sulphur, La., 7.9 seconds. 2, tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 8.0. 3, Jake Pratt, Ellensburg, Wash., 8.1. 4, Trevor Brazile, Decatur, Texas, 8.3. (total on two) 1, Corey Solomon, Prairie View, Texas, 17.2. 2, Brazile, 17.5. 3, Rhen Richard, Roosevelt, Utah, 18.2. 4, Cimarron Boardman, Stephenville, Texas, 18.9. 5, Ty Harris, San Angelo, Texas, 19.1. 6, Taylor Santos, Creston, Calif., 20.2. 7, (tie) Ryle Smith, Oakdale, Calif., and Stetson Vest, Childress, Texas, 20.9.

Barrel racing: (second round) 1, Ivy Conrado, Hudson, Colo., 17.09 seconds. 2, Amberleigh Moore, 17.23. 3, Jimmie Smith, McDade, Texas, 17.28. 4, Brittney Burrow, Meridian, Idaho, 17.30. (total on two) 1, Conrado, 34.40. 2, Teri Bangart, Olympia, Wash., 34.66. 3, Amberleigh Moore, 34.70. 4, (tie) Tammy Fischer, Ledbetter, Texas, and Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, Victoria, Texas, 34.72 each. 6, Darby Fox, King Hill, Idaho, 34.83. 7, Darby Fox, King Hill, Idaho, 34.83. 8, Jessi Fish, Franklin, Tenn., 34.85.

Bull Riding: (first round leaders) 1, Derek Kolbaba, Walla Walla, Wash., 89 points on D&H Cattle Company’s 93Z. 2, Eli Vastbinder, Athens, Texas, 86. 3, Jeff Askey, Athens, Texas, 82. 4, Sage Kimzey, Strong City, Okla., 81.5. 5, Parker Breding, Edgar, Mont., 76.5. 6, Aaron Williams, Pismo Beach, Calif., 69.