Montana StationsKTVQ


MSU Billings No. 6 seed, faces Point Loma Nazarene in DII West Region Baseball Championships

Posted at 10:14 AM, May 13, 2019

(Editor’s note: MSU Billings athletics release)

LA JOLLA, Calif. – Drawing the No. 6 seed into the 2019 NCAA D2 West Region Baseball Championships, the Montana State University Billings baseball team will face Point Loma Nazarene University in its first-ever regional playoff game as the tournament field was released by the NCAA on Sunday night.

No. 1 Seed Azusa Pacific and No. 2 Seed University of California San Diego earned hosting rights for the tournament, which will be split into a pair of three-team brackets. MSUB will play at UCSD in a three-team pod with the Tritons and Sealions. Azusa Pacific will host No. 4 seed California State University Monterey Bay, and No. 5 seed Cal Poly Pomona. The winners of the three-team brackets will then meet in a best-of-three series the following week, with a trip to the Division II College World Series in Cary, North Carolina, on the line.

All of MSUB’s games at this week’s regional tournament will be played at Triton Ballpark on the UCSD campus in La Jolla, California.

For more information on the NCAA Division II regional baseball championships, please click here.

2019 NCAA D2 Baseball West Region Championships Schedule
Double-Elimination Format | All Times Pacific Standard

Day 1 – Thursday, May 16, 2019
Game 1: No. 6 Seed MSU Billings vs. No. 3 Seed Point Loma Nazarene – 7 PM

Day 2 – Friday, May 17, 2019
Game 2: Loser Game 1 vs. No. 2 Seed UC San Diego – 3:30 PM
Game 3: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner/Loser Game 2 – 7 PM

Day 3 – Saturday, May 18, 2019
Game 4: Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3 – 3:30 PM
Game 5: Winner Game 4 vs. Loser Game 4 (if necessary) – 7 PM

*If the No. 1 Seed wins Game 2, then Game 3 will become the first of a best-of-three series between the No. 1 Seed and the winner of Game 1.
*If the winner of Game 2 is the loser of Game 1, the loser of Game 2 will play the winner of Game 1.
*If three teams remain after Game 3, refer to alternate bracket to determine matchups.