University of Montana athletic director Kent Haslam to serve on FCS Selection Committee

Posted at 8:20 PM, Sep 27, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-01 11:47:32-04

(Editor’s note: University of Montana athletics release)

MISSOULA — University of Montana director of athletics Kent Haslam has been appointed to the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Selection Committee, and will serve on the committee through the 2020 season.

Haslam, who is in his seventh year serving as the director of athletics at UM, is one of 10 FCS athletic directors tasked with determining the 24-team FCS playoff bracket.

“I am honored to join this committee and look forward to working with FCS colleagues across the country,” said Haslam. “I am excited to represent the Big Sky Conference and work collaboratively in making the NCAA Division I Football Championship the best it can be.”

The 2018 FCS Selection committee is chaired by Brad Teague, the director of athletics at Central Arkansas, and consists of a representative from each of the FCS conferences that have automatic qualification status to the football playoffs. It is the only national committee that is 100 percent comprised of athletic directors.

The 24-team FCS playoff field consists of 10 automatic qualifiers and 14 at-large berths.

The selection committee regularly convenes via conference calls throughout the season, and it will meet in Indianapolis on Saturday, Nov. 17 – the final day of the regular season. The 2018 playoff bracket will then be revealed on Sunday, Nov. 18, with first-round games set for Nov. 24.

Montana holds an FCS record 23 playoff appearances in program history and has amassed 32 playoff wins in its seven championship appearances and nine semifinal appearances.

2018 FCS Selection Committee:
Brad Teague, Central Arkansas – Southland Conference (Chair)
Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island – Colonial Athletic Conference
Randy Eaton, Western Carolina – Southern Conference
Kent Haslam, Montana – Big Sky Conference
Kyle Moats, Missouri State – Missouri Valley Football Conference
Tim Murray, Marist – Pioneer Football League
Robert Roller, Campbell – Big South Conference
Greg Seitz, Jacksonville State – Ohio Valley Conference
Bill Smith, Bryant – Northeast Conference
Jermaine Truax, Bucknell – Patriot League