Big Sky Conference announces preseason all-conference teams

Posted at 12:37 PM, Jul 15, 2019
Montana linebacker Dante Olson pumps up the crowd against Montana State at Washington-Grizzly Stadium. (SLIM KIMMEL/MTN Sports)

(Editor’s note: Big Sky Conference media release)

SPOKANE, Wash. — The Big Sky Conference announced its 2019 Preseason All-Conference Football Team today at the league’s Football Kickoff being held at the Davenport Hotel in Spokane.

UC Davis quarterback Jake Maier, the reigning Big Sky Offensive Most Valuable Player, was picked to repeat in 2019. Maier led the Aggies to their first-ever FCS playoff appearance, first playoff win and a 10-win season in 2018. Maier completed 364 of 557 passes for 3,931 yards and 34 touchdown passes.

Montana linebacker Dante Olson was named the 2019 Big Sky Preseason Defensive Player of the Year. Olson led the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) in tackles with 151 stops. The senior finished third in the running for the Buck Buchanan Award, as he had a stellar junior campaign.

Idaho offensive guard Noah Johnson, Northern Arizona cornerback Khalil Dorsey and Idaho punter Cade Coffey were the three unanimous selections to the preseason all-conference team.

Eleven of the league’s 13 schools have at least one representative on the team. Leading the way with seven honorees is Weber State.

Eighteen seniors take up more than half of the spots on the preseason all-conference team. Ten juniors and one sophomore complete the team.

2019 Big Sky Preseason Football Team

Preseason Offensive MVP: Jake Maier, QB, UC Davis
Preseason Defensive MVP: Dante Olson, LB, Montana


QB: Jake Maier, Sr., UC Davis
WR: Mitch Gueller, Sr., Idaho State
WR: Samuel Akem, Jr., Montana
WR: Jared Harrell, Jr., UC Davis
OT: Mitch Brott, Sr., Montana State
OT: Chris Schlichting, Sr., Eastern Washington
OG: Noah Johnson, Sr., Idaho
OG: Ty Whitworth, Jr., Weber State
C: Zach Larsen, Sr., Southern Utah
TE: Charlie Taumopeau, Sr., Portland State
RB: Josh Davis, So., Weber State
RB: Elijah Dotson, Jr., Sacramento State
FB: Troy Andersen, Jr., Montana State
PK: Trey Tuttle, Jr., Weber State
RS: Rashid Shaheed, Jr., Weber State


DT: Jalen Goss, Sr., Northern Arizona
DT: Kenton Bartlett, Sr., Portland State
DE: Adam Rodriguez, Sr., Weber State
DE: Jonah Williams, Jr., Weber State
OLB: Auston Tesch, Sr., Weber State
OLB: Bryce Sterk, Sr., Montana State
ILB: Dante Olson, Sr., Montana
ILB: Kody Graves, Sr., Idaho State
CB: Khalil Dorsey, Sr., Northern Arizona
CB: Greg Filer, Sr., Montana State
S: Adkin Aguirre, Sr., Idaho State
S: Brayden Konkol, Sr., Montana State
P: Cade Coffey, Jr., Idaho
ST: Jace Lewis, Jr., Montana