Big Sky Conference teams UC Davis, Weber State, Eastern Washington in FCS Committee Top 10

Posted at 9:47 PM, Oct 31, 2018

(Editor’s note: Big Sky Conference media release)

OGDEN, Utah — With three weeks remaining in the regular season, the FCS Committee slotted three Big Sky Conference teams – UC Davis, Weber State and Eastern Washington — in its first and only Top 10 rankings of the regular season, announced Wednesday during halftime of the Ball State-Toledo football game that was aired live on ESPN2.

The Big Sky tied the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) with three selections each.

The Aggies led the way for the Big Sky at No. 3 in the committee’s rankings. UC Davis has an undefeated 5-0 record in conference play and a 7-1 overall mark. UC Davis began the season with a 44-38 road win at FBS San Jose State and followed it up with a 54-21 win over San Diego. The Aggies have won their past five outings and enter this week ranked No. 6 in the STATS FCS poll and No. 9 in the AFCA Coaches’ poll.

Weber State’s No. 4 ranking puts two Big Sky teams in the top five. The Wildcats are ranked No. 4 in the STATS FCS poll this week and No. 5 in the AFCA Coaches’ poll. Weber State, 6-2, 4-1 BSC, registered a non-conference win over South Dakota, beating the Coyotes 27-10, and have recorded three wins over Top 25 opponents this season.

Eastern Washington gives the Big Sky three teams in the Top 10 rankings by the committee coming in at No. 9. The Eagles are the only Big Sky team to rank in the Top 25 of the FCS polls all season long. The Eagles are 6-2, 4-1 in league play. All of Eastern Washington’s wins have come when scoring 31 points or more, while the Eagles have scored 55 points or higher in three of their six victories.

This is the third consecutive year that the committee has publicly released a midseason ranking. This will be the only ranking released by the committee prior to the final bracket being revealed at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time on Selection Sunday, Nov. 18, on ESPNU.

FCS Committee Top 10

North Dakota State
James Madison
UC Davis
Weber State
South Dakota State
Eastern Washington