More SportsRodeo


Montana barrel racers dominate 2nd semi at Fort Worth Rodeo

Lockhart, Barnett, Lockwood all advance
Lisa Lockhart Fort Worth
Posted at 10:08 PM, Feb 07, 2020

(PRCA release)

FORT WORTH, Texas – Montanans dominated the barrel racing event during Semi-Final B Friday night at the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo, claiming three of four championship round spots.

Lisa Lockhart, a Circle native who now lives in Oelrichs, South Dakota, and her great buckskin mare Rosa’s Cantina had the best trip around three barrels. They stopped the clock in 16.39 seconds. Also advancing in the barrels are Brittney Barnett from Joliet, Lacinda Rose from Willard, Missouri, and last year’s champion here, Hailey Lockwood, who married PBR two-time world champion Jess Lockwood late last year. The pair split time between Lockwood's hometown of Volborg and Texas.

Saddle bronc rider Spencer Wright had the high marked ride of the whole rodeo so far when he scored 90.5 points on Calgary Stampede’s horse named Stampede Warrior. That was just a half-point shy of the highest recorded score in the history of the rodeo.

Wright, the 2014 world champion, got $4,000 for his ride. He will try to expand on that in the finals where the champion will leave with a $20,000 check. Also advancing are Wyatt Casper from Pampa, Texas; Mitch Pollock of Winnemucca, Nevada, and Colt Gordon from Comanche, Oklahoma.

Several north Texans will be hoping to earn the first titles ever awarded in the Dickies Arena. Tilden Hooper, who chose Fort Worth to be his home after growing up in Carthage, advanced in the bareback riding. He tied for third place with Rapid City, South Dakota’s Jamie Howlett with an 85.5-point ride. There was a tie for the top as well. Clint Laye from Cadogan, Alberta, and Paden Hurst from Huntsville, Texas each had 86.5.

Tie-down roper Tyson Durfey grew up in Missouri, but also chooses to live in the area. He made the trip from his home in Brock to compete and finished with the fastest run of the night at 7.8 seconds. He’ll be back on Saturday as will Adam Gray from Seymour, Texas; Tuf Cooper from Decatur, Texas, and Tyler Milligan from Pawhuska, Oklahoma.

In the steer wrestling, Louisiana and Mississippi took top honors. Jacob Talley, of Keatchie, Louisiana was first with a time of 4.1 seconds. Close behind was Byhalia, Mississippi’s Will Lummus with a 4.2. Jacob Edler from State Center, Iowa, and Bridger Anderson, from Carrington, North Dakota also advanced.

Sisters Anna and Cassie Bahe of Grantsville, Utah, are among the first breakaway ropers in history to compete for a FWSSR rodeo championship. Anna’s time of 2.3 seconds tied for first with Shai Schaefer from Torrington, Wyoming. Cassie’s time of 2.5 tied for third with Stephenville, Texas resident Jackie Crawford.

The fastest run in the team roping went to Tyler Wade from Terrell, Texas, and Billie Jack Saebens, from Nowata, Oklahoma. They stopped the clock in 5.2 seconds. The next three runs were separated by just one-tenth of a second each. Lane Ivy from Dublin, Texas, and Joseph Harrison, from Marietta, Oklahoma had a 5.3. Britt and Jake Smith from Broken Bow, Oklahoma finished third with a 5.4. Charley Crawford, from Stephenville, Texas, and Logan Medlin from Tatum, New Mexico got the final slot with a 5.5.

Two bull riders made it to the eight-second mark on Friday and they both hail from Oklahoma. At the top of the board was Strong City’s Trey Kimzey with an 86-point score on Rafter G Rodeo’s Texas Red. Fulton Rutland of Stilwell finished second with 84. Based on qualification rules, Trevor Kastner from Roff, Oklahoma and Jeff Askey from Athens, Texas, will also compete for the championship.

Saturday night’s Championship Round will be the culmination of this year’s rodeo. Action gets underway at 7:30 p.m.

The following are unofficial results from Semi-Final B of the FWSSR ProRodeo Tournament at the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo. The top four from this round advance to the finals on Saturday:

Bareback riding: 1, (tie) Clint Laye, Cadogan, Alberta, on Championship Pro Rodeos’ Stacked Deck, and Paden Hurst, Huntsville, Texas, on Rafter G Rodeo’s Holy Grail, 86.5 points, $3,500 each. 3, (tie) Tilden Hooper, Carthage, Texas, and Jamie Howlett, Rapid City, S.D., 85.5, $1,500 each.

Steer Wrestling: 1, Jacob Talley, Keatchie, La., 4.1 seconds, $4,000. 2, Will Lummus, Byhalia, Miss., 4.2, $3,000. 3, Jacob Edler, State Center, Iowa, 4.7, $2,000. 4, Bridger Anderson, 4.8, $1,000.

Breakaway Roping: 1, (tie) Anna Bahe, Grantsville, Utah, and Shai Schaefer, Torrington, Wyo., 2.3 seconds, $3,500 each. 3, (tie) Jackie Crawford, Stephenville Texas, and Cassie Bahe, Grantsville, Utah, 2.5, $1,500.

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1, Spencer Wright, Milford, Utah, 90.5 points on Calgary Stampede’s Stampede Warrior, $4,000. 2, Colt Gordon, Comanche, Okla., 89.5, $3,000. 3, Wyatt Casper, Pampa, Texas, 88.5, $2,000. 4, Mitch Pollock, Winnemucca, Nev., 87, $1,000.

Tie-down Roping: 1, Tyson Durfey, Brock, Texas, 7.8 seconds, $4,000. 2, Tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 8.7, $3,000. 3, Adam Gray, Seymour, Texas, 8.8, $2,000. 4, Tyler Milligan, Pawhuska, Okla., 9.1, $1,000.

Team Roping: 1, Tyler Wade, Terrell, Texas, and Billie Jack Saebens, Nowata, Okla., 5.2 seconds, $4,000 each. 2, Lane Ivy, Dublin, Texas, and Joseph Harrison, Marietta, Okla., 5.3, $3,000 each. 3, Britt and Jake Smith, Broken Bow, Okla., 5.4, $2,000 each. 4, Charly Crawford, Stephenville, Texas, and Logan Medlin, Tatum, N.M., 5.5, $1,000 each.

Barrel Racing: 1, Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 16.39 seconds, $4,000. 2, Lacinda Rose, Willard, Mo., 16.55, $3,000. 3, Brittney Barnett, Joliet, Mont., 16.56, $2,000. 4, Hailey Lockwood, Cotulla, Texas, 16.59, $1,000.

Bull Riding: (two rides) 1, Trey Kimzey, Strong City, Okla., on Rafter G Rodeo’s Texas Red, $5,500. 2, Fulton Rutland, Stilwell, Okla., 84, $4,500. Jeff Askey, Athens, Texas, and Trevor Kastner, Roff, Okla., also advance due to tiebreaker rules.