More SportsRodeo


Kolbaba, Eguchi, Kasel split PBR Round 1 win in Virginia

Derek Kolbaba wins 2019 PBR Canada Iron Cowboy
Posted at 9:12 PM, Sep 21, 2019
and last updated 2019-09-21 23:12:00-04

FAIRFAX, Va. – On a night that saw 15 qualified rides, three riders – Derek Kolbaba (Walla Walla, Washington), Marco Eguchi (Poa, Brazil) and Dalton Kasel (Muleshoe, Texas) – tied for the Round 1 win at the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Unleash The Beast’s U.S. Border Patrol Invitational inside EagleBank Arena after each recorded matching 87.25-point scores.

Kasel first captivated the raucous crowd when he surged to an early lead at the second-ever premier series event in Fairfax, Virginia, making the 8 aboard Dang It (Davis Rodeo Ranch/Fogle).

Eguchi and Kolbaba then put up back-to-back round-winning scores when they covered Zacchaeus (Davis Rodeo Ranch/Fogle) and Bomber (Davis Rodeo Ranch/Speers), respectively.

For their efforts, each cowboy left the campus of George Mason University Saturday night with a check for $2,776.67 in addition to 70 world points.

World No. 1 Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, Brazil) further extended his lead atop the standings after finishing fourth in Round 1.

The Brazilian phenom earned the result courtesy of an 86.25-point trip aboard Cut The Cord (Kruger Bucking Bulls).

On the hunt for his first PBR World Championship, Leme collected $1,300 and 40 world points.

He now leads No. 2 Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana) by 861.66 points.

Rounding out the Top 5 after the opening night was Alan de Souza (Taubate, Brazil). He covered Freddy (K-C Bucking Bulls/Ronnie Chism Farm & Ranch) for 86 points to earn $850 and 30 world points.

Souza gained one spot in the world rankings, rising from No. 54 to No. 53.

Three additional cowboys also collected world points Saturday night.

Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) finished sixth after riding Sky Bandit (Tomaski Rodeo Co.) for 85.75 points to earn $600 and 15 world points, while Chase Outlaw (Hamburg, Arkansas) and Cody Teel (Kountze, Texas) tied for seventh with matching 85.5-point efforts that earned them each $410 and 2.5 world points. Outlaw and Teel reached the 8 aboard Hurricane Tested (Kruger Bucking Bulls) and Red Oak (D4 Cattle/Tomaski), respectively.

Fans can relive all the action from Round 1 of the U.S. Border Patrol Invitational Sunday, September 22 at 8:00 a.m. EDT at or via the RidePass mobile app.

Action inside EagleBank Arena will continue with Round 2 and the championship round on Sunday starting at 2:45 p.m. EDT.

CBS Sports Network will broadcast all the action from Round 2 and the championship round on Sunday at 6:00 p.m. EDT. Fans will also be able to tune in LIVE via RidePass. The listen LIVE stream of Championship Sunday will begin at 2:45 p.m. EDT.

PBR Unleash The Beast
U.S. Border Patrol Invitational
EagleBank Arena – Fairfax, Virginia

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Derek Kolbaba, 87.25-0-0-87.25-70 Points.
(tie). Marco Eguchi, 87.25-0-0-87.25-70 Points.
(tie). Dalton Kasel, 87.25-0-0-87.25-70 Points.
4. Jose Vitor Leme, 86.25-0-0-86.25-40 Points.
5. Alan de Souza, 86-0-0-86.00-30 Points.
6. Eduardo Aparecido, 85.75-0-0-85.75-15 Points.
7. Chase Outlaw, 85.5-0-0-85.50-2.5 Points.
(tie). Cody Teel, 85.5-0-0-85.50-2.5 Points.
9. Alisson De Souza, 85.25-0-0-85.25
10. Cooper Davis, 84.75-0-0-84.75
11. Michael Lane, 84-0-0-84.00
12. Lane Mellers, 83.75-0-0-83.75
13. Dakota Buttar, 83.25-0-0-83.25
14. Ezekiel Mitchell, 83-0-0-83.00
15. Dener Barbosa, 81.75-0-0-81.75
Jess Lockwood, 0-0-0-0.00
João Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0.00
Daylon Swearingen, 0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00
Lucas Divino, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Taylor, 0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0-0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Taylor Toves, 0-0-0-0.00
Dylan Smith, 0-0-0-0.00
Jared Parsonage, 0-0-0-0.00
Scottie Knapp, 0-0-0-0.00
Junio Quaresima, 0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Casper, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Cardozo, 0-0-0-0.00
Lonnie West, 0-0-0-0.00