More SportsRodeo


Fountain gains saddle bronc edge, Clay Tryan 2nd in Denver

Saddle Bronc Fountain.JPG
Posted at 11:02 PM, Jan 20, 2020

(Story by Susan Kanode/NWSSR)

DENVER - Leon Fountain is hoping that the National Western Stock Show Rodeo will see him getting on many more bucking horses.

Fountain of Socorro, N.M., rode in the Denver Coliseum Monday afternoon and took the lead in the first round. He scored 85.5 points on a horse named The Edge from Cervi Championship Rodeo. That gave him the edge in the first round as he now leads by 2.5 points.

That 85.5-point effort gives him an advantage as he rides here again on Tuesday night. That will be his second round of preliminary competition. Scores are added together and the best 24 will advance to next Saturday’s semifinals. With his great ride on Monday, all Fountain needs is a solid performance to see him back in Denver.

Having a chance to win Denver’s rodeo will mean getting on at least three more bucking horses. Just riding here is a big opportunity for Fountain. Just over a year ago, he had surgery to repair a torn ACL and missed the Denver Rodeo. He didn’t get on a bucking horse until March at the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo in Kissimmee, Florida. He scored 87 points and won over $6,000 on his first competition back.

The rest of the year didn’t go as well as he had hoped, but he is looking forward to the 2020 season. A big win in Denver would certainly help.

Tuesday’s rodeo will feature round two competition in all events. Action in the Denver Coliseum starts at 7 p.m.

Seventh Performance –

Bareback Riding: 1, Bronc Marriot, Woods Cross, Utah, 81.5 points on The Cervi Brothers Rodeo’s Tiramisu. 2, Tim Murphy, Cleveland, Texas, 81. 3, Shane O’Connell, Rapid City, S.D., 76. 4, Taylor Brousssard, Estherwood, La., 71.

Steer Wrestling: 1, Cade Goodman, Waelder, Texas, 4.5 seconds. 2, Winsten McGraw, Greeley, Colo., 5.5. 3, Tait Kvistad, Laramie, Wyo., 6.7. 4, Chase Crane, Oklahoma City, 6.9.

Team Roping: 1, Kade Smith, Post, Texas, and Levi Tyan, Wallace, Neb., 4.7 seconds. 2, Clay Tryan, Billings, Mont., and Jake Long, Coffeyville, Kan., 4.9. 3, Coy Rahlmann, Ellsinore, Mo., and Ryan Von Ahn, Palmyra, Mo., 5.1. 4, Paul Beckett, Laramie, Wyo., and Jayden Johnson, Casper, Wyo., 5.2.

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1, Leon Fountain, Socorro, N.M., 85.5 points on Cervi Championship Rodeo’s The Edge. 2, Dawson Hay, Wildwood, Alberta, 80. 3, (tie) Zeke Thurston, Big Valley, Alberta, and Kash Deal, Dupree, S.D., 78 each.

Tie Down Roping: 1, Tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 9.1 seconds. 2, Taylor Santos, Creston, Calif., 9.5. 3, Stetson Vest, Childress, Texas, 9.9. 3, Cory Solomon, Prairie View, Texas, 11.4.

Women’s Barrel Race: 1, Taylor Langdon, Aubrey, Texas, 15.60 seconds. 2, Lois Ferguson, West, Texas, 15.64. 3, Amy Jo Reisdorfer, Cheyenne, Wyo., 15.75. 4, Carley Cervi, Roggen, Colo., 15.77.

Bull Riding: (One ride) Dylan Grant, Pavillion, Wyo., 66.

Unofficial Leaders –

Bareback Riding: (first round) 1, Tim O’Connell, Zwingle, Iowa, 88 points on Bailey Pro Rodeo’s Black Sunday. 2, (tie) Garrett Shadbolt, Merriman, Neb., and Chance Ames, Rock Springs, Wyo., 85 each. 4, Mason Clements, Draper, Utah, 84.5. (Second round) 1, O’Connell, 87.5 points on Cervi Brother’s Living the High Life. 2, Chad Rutherford, Lake Charles, La., 86.5. 3, (tie) Kory Hart, Bloomfield, N.M., and Spur Lacasse, Calgary, Alberta, 85.5 each. (Total on two) 1, O’Connell, 175.5. 2, Shadbolt, 168.5. 3, Richmond Champion, The Woodlands, Texas, 167.5. 4, Lacasse, 167.

Steer Wrestling: (first round) 1, Riley Duvall, Checotah, Okla., 3.9 seconds. 2, (tie) Jace Melvin, Fort Pierre, S.D.; Dirk Tavenner, Rigby, Idaho; and Jacob Edler, State Center, Iowa, 4.0 each. (second round) 1, Stetson Jorgensen, Blackfoot, Idaho, 3.8. 2, Justice Johnson, Bismarck, N.D., 3.9. 3, Bridger Chambers, Stevensville, Mont., 4.0. 4, Matt Reeves, Cross Plains, Texas, 4.1. (total on two) 1, Melvin, 8.2. 2, Edler, 8.8. 3, Jorgensen, 9.2. 4, (tie) Laine Herl, Goodland, Kan., and Dirk Tavenner, 9.9 each.

Team Roping: (first round) 1, Kade Smith, Post, Texas and Levi tyan, Wallace, Neb., 4.7 seconds. 2, Brenten Hall, Jay, Okla., and Chase Tryan, Helena, Mont., 4.8. 3, Charly Crawford, Stephenville, Texas, and Logan Medlin, Tatum, N.M., 5.0. 4, Cody Snow, Los Olivos, Calif., and Paul Eaves, Lonedell, Mo., 5.3. (second round) 1, Travis Bounds, Clifton, Colo., and Joe Roderick, Loma, Colo., 4.2. 2, Steven Duby, Klamath Falls, Ore., and Jason Duby, Hereford, Ore., 4.5. 3, Ty Blasingame, Casper, Wyo., and Cody Hintz, Refugio, Texas, 4.6. 3, Jeff Flenniken, Caldwell, Idaho and Tyler Worley, Berryville, Ark., 4.7.. (total on two) 1, (tie) Snow and Eaves; and Hall and Tryan, 10.3. 3, Crawford and Medlin, 10.6. 4, Trenary and Schnaufer, 10.8.

Saddle Bronc Riding: (first round) 1, Leon Fountain, Socorro, N.M., 85.5 points on Cervi Championship’s The Edge. 2, (tie) Brody Cress, Hillsdale, Wyo., and Kobyn Williams, De Berry, Texas, 83 points each. 4, Mitch Pollock, Twin Falls, Idaho, 82. (second round) 1, Ryder Wright, Milford, Utah, 88 points on The Cervi Brother’s Tank. 2, Kobyn Williams, 85.5. 3, CoBurn Bradsahw, 84.5. 4, Chet Johnson, Douglas, Wyo., 84. (total on two) 1, Williams, 168.5. 2, Ryder Wright, 166. 3, Johnson, 163.5. 4, (tie) Rusty Wright, and Bradshaw, 159.

Tie Down Roping: (first round) 1, Shad Mayfield, Clovis, N.M., 6.9 seconds. 2, Ryle Smith, Oakdale, Calif., 7.7. 3, Ty Harris, San Angelo, Texas, 8.1. 4, Westyn Hughes, Caldwell, Texas, 8.6. (second round) 1, (tie) Harris and Chase Williams, Stephenville, Texas, 7.3 each. 3, Trell Etbauer, Goodwell, Okla., 7.7. 4, Westyn Hughes, Caldwell, Texas, 8.0. (total on two) 1, Harris, 15.4. 2, Williams, 16.4. 3, Hughes, 16.6. 4, Tyler Milligan, Pawhuska, Okla., 16.8.

Women’s Barrel Race: (first round) 1, Tillar Murray, Fort Worth, Texas, 14.97 seconds. 2, Ivy Hurst, Springer, Okla., 15.03. 3, Jimmie Smith, McDade, Texas, 15.10. 4, Wendy Hoefer, Fort Lupton, Colo., 15.23. (second round) 1, Tillar Murray, 15.00. 2, Jimmie Smith, 15.10. 3, Jennifer Sharp, Richards, Texas, 15.19. 4, Ashley Castleberry, Montgomery, Texas, 15.29. (total on two) 1, Murray, 29.97. 2, Smith, 30.20. 3, Hurst, 30.34. 4, (tie) Tiany Schuster, Krum, Texas, and Jill Tanner, Stephenville, Texas, 30.73.

Bull Riding: (first round) 1, Matt Palmer, Poplar Grove, Ill., 86.5 points on Big Rafter Rodeo’s Political Promise. 2, (tie) Dillon Tyner, Eaton, Colo., and Cole Fischer, Jefferson City, Mo., 85 each. 4, Clayton Sellars, Fruitland Park, Fla., 84.5. (second round) 1, Toby Collins, Stephenville, Texas, 90 points on Cervi Championship Rodeo’s Rawhide. 2, (tie) Sellars and Ruger Piva, Challis, Idaho, 86.5 points each. 4, Lon Danley, Tularosa, N.M., 85.5. (total on two) 1, Collins, 174. 2, Sellars, 171. 3, Shad Winn, Nephi, Utah, 158. 4, Coy Pollmeier, Fort Scott, Kan., 157.5.

Champions -- 15th annual Martin Luther King Jr. African-American Heritage Rodeo of Champions at NWSSR

Steer Wrestling -- 1, Drew Madden, 4.1 seonds

Bareback Riding – 1, Lamontre Hosley, 74 points.

Ladies Steer Undecorating – 1, Raemia Clemons, 1.7 seconds

Tie-Down Roping -- 1, Corey Solomon, 8.9 seconds.

Barrel Racing – 1, Sadie Jackson, 15.65 seconds

Jr. Barrel Racing – Kortnee Solomon, 16.47 seconds

Bull Riding – Jamarcus Whiting, 75 points