More SportsGolf


Annika Danenhauer powers past Rosanova to win Montana Women's State Am

Annika Danenhauer powers past Rosanova to win Montana Women's State Am
Posted at 6:18 PM, Jul 25, 2020

BOZEMAN -- Annika Danenhauer, the former Bozeman High state golf champion and current Montana State University golfer, powered past longtime teammate Cora Rosanova to win the Montana Women's State Am golf tournament on Saturday.

Danenhauer, who graduated from Bozeman in 2019 as the Class AA state champion, shot a 1-over-par 72 on Saturday to win the three-day tournament by five strokes over Rosanova, who graduated from Bozeman this spring. The two will be teammates for Montana State this fall.

Danenhauer finished with a three-day total of 221, while Rosanova was five back at 226. Tierney Messmer, the former Sidney standout and MSU Billings golfer, finished third at 229.

Danenhauer trailed Rosanova by a single stroke entering the final day of the tournament at Riverside Country Club. After a bogey on the opening hole, and again on the par-3 sixth, she went for eagle on the par-5 seventh hole to put her in the lead for good.

Rosanova also scored bogey on the first hole, but a birdie on the par-4 fourth sent her back to even par. Consecutive bogeys on Nos. 5 and 6 sent her to 2-over, and Danenhauer's eagle on the ensuing hole shifted the momentum.

The back nine saw Danenhauer birdie the par-5 10th, while Rosanova went bogey-bogey on Nos. 10 and 11 to fall three back. A double bogey on the par-4 13th kept the deficit at three strokes, but Danenhauer birdied No. 16 while Rosanova went bogey, creating the final separation.

The Montana Women's Mid-Am title went to Susan Haskins, who won by 14 strokes. Haskins shot 76-76-72 over the weekend, dropping three birdies in her final round.

Jo Smith took the Women's Senior Am championship with a three-day total of 236, good enough to win by eight strokes.

For the complete leaderboard of the Montana Women's State Am, please click here. The Mid-Am leaderboard can be found here, while the Senior Am final scores are here.