CollegeMontana State Bobcats


Montana State Bobcats land 69 on academic all-Big Sky Conference teams

Posted at 5:36 PM, Jun 26, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-26 19:36:34-04

(Editor's note: Montana State University athletics release)

BOZEMAN -- The Big Sky Conference has announced its 2020 spring all-academic teams, where 69 Montana State student-athletes have been acknowledged for their prowess in the classroom, as well as on the course, court and track.

Going head-to-head in the five league sports (golf, men’s and women’s track, men’s and women’s tennis) in which Montana State competes during the spring season, the Cats led the Big Sky in all-academic honorees. MSU’s hefty achievement in the classroom came while navigating the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I continue to be amazed by our student-athletes,” said MSU director of athletics Leon Costello. “Considering everything that these student-athletes endure every day, and specifically over the past three months, to be able to remain focused on their academics is a significant achievement. I can’t thank the MSU leadership, the faculty and our staff and coaches enough for helping our student-athletes persevere during these challenging times.”

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have met and/or exceeded the following minimum requirements: 1) Participated in at least half of the team’s competitions. In track & field, student-athletes who competed at the 2019 outdoor conference championships and/or the 2020 indoor conference championships are eligible. 2) Achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) at the conclusion of the most recently completed term; 3) Completed at least one academic term at his/her current Big Sky institution.

Montana State’s academic all-Big Sky Conference spring honorees:

Women's Golf - Delaney Elliott, Sr., Elementary Education, Kelly Hooper, Sr., Civil Engineering, Sofia Rodriguez Todd, So., Business Management, Coral Schulz, Sr., English Teaching.

Men’s Track - Henry Adams, So., Earth Sciences, Cameron Carroll, Jr., Construction Engineering Tech, Gannon Chamberlain, Sr., Civil Engineering, Riley Collins, So., Mathematics, Ian Fosdick, Fr., Environmental Design Foundations, Bradley Graves, Fr., Business Management, Casey Gunlikson, Fr., Business Management, Duncan Hamilton, So., Mechanical Engineering, Lucas Jepsen Fr., Mechanical Engineering, Josh Mertz, So., Health & Physical Education, Alec Nehring, Jr., Mathematics, Ben Perrin, Fr., University Studies, Will Prettyman, Fr., Film, Ethan Saberhagen, So., History, Drake Schneider, Jr., Financial Engineering, Isaac Schmidt, Fr., Electrical Engineering, Jared Schwend, Jr., Chemical Engineering, Carter Slade, Fr., Chemical Engineering, Zach Smith, Sr., Health & Physical Education, Braden Stremcha, So., Biological Sciences, Levi Taylor, Fr., Civil Engineering, Wyatt Thompson-Siporen, Sr., History, Cooper West, So., Cell Biology & Neuroscience, Sola Yeager, Sr., Kinesiology.

Women’s Track - Evelyn Adams, Fr., Pre-Med, Madi Arneson, So., Early Childhood Development, Lindsay Benson, Jr., Exercise Science, Maddie Brockel, So., Exercise Science, Maisee Brown, Fr., Chemistry, Trisha Carlson, Jr., Cell Biology & Neuroscience, Elena Carter, So., Psychology, Kylie Christiansen, Jr., Lucy Corbett, So., Biochemistry, Morgan Evans, Jr., Elementary Education, Jordan Fink, So., University Studies, Anna French, Sr., Conservation Biology & Ecology, Megan Good, Jr., Political Science, Celestia Hammond, Jr., Chemical Engineering, Alex Hellenberg, Jr., Computer Engineering, Zoe Johnson, Fr., Psychology, Leah Klein, Jr., Kinesiology, Lexi Kyro, Jr., Microbiology, Madison Liechty, Sr., Civil Engineering, Gillian Maness, Sr., Psychology/Spanish, Camila Noe, So., Nursing, Brookelyn Palin, Jr., Political Science, Amber Prevedello, So., Microbiology, McKenna Ramsay, Sr., Photography, Twila Reovan, So., Business Management, Tru Roginske, Sr., Microbiology, Delaney Smith, So., Nursing, Carley VonHeeder, Sr., Psychology, Zoe Waddell, Fr., Psychology.

Men’s Tennis - Nejc Sitar, So., Industrial/Management Systems Engineering, Marcos Zelver, So., Chemical Engineering, Joaquin Espinoza, Jr., Mechanical Engineering, Christian Damgaard Qvist, So., Political Science, Manuel Monteiro, Fr., Business Management.

Women’s Tennis - Mirte Van Baelen, Fr., Biological Engineering, Laura Mary, Sr., Exercise Science, Caitlin Ward, Jr., Environmental Design, JJ Chen, Fr., University Studies, Linnea Fristam, So., Pre-Business, Evi Buijsen, Fr., English Writing, Daphne Haverkamp, So., Chemical Engineering.