CollegeMontana Grizzlies


Sixteen Montana Grizzlies collect Intercollegiate Tennis Association's scholar-athlete awards

Posted at 10:25 AM, Jul 31, 2020

(Editor's note: University of Montana athletics release)

MISSOULA -- The entire Montana women's tennis team and nine of the 10 players on the UM men's tennis team earned a place on the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) Division I 2019-20 all-academic scholar-athlete team, the organization announced this week.

The Montana men's tennis team placed a Big Sky Conference-best nine student-athletes on the Scholar-Athlete team, while, for the fifth-straight year, the Grizzly women earned an ITA all-academic team honor. The UM men also received the distinction for the third-straight year.

The prestigious ITA scholar-athlete award recognizes athletes who have gone above and beyond the requirements for an academic all-conference honor with a 3.5 GPA required to earn a place on the list.

To be named an ITA all-academic team, programs must have a team grade point average of 3.2 or above (on a 4.00 scale), all student-athletes included should be listed on the institutional eligibility form, and all varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year.

Head coach Jason Brown's men's team also won the Dusten Hollist Award for the best overall GPA in Grizzly Athletics for a second-straight year, continuing a streak of being one of the highest overall performing programs on campus.

In 2020, 979 Division I Men student-athletes were named an ITA scholar-athlete and 186 men's tennis programs were awarded the all-academic team distinction.

Montana Men's Scholar-Athletes

Finn Anderson
Milo Benn
Pontus Hallgren
Ludvig Hallgren
Max Korkh
Ed Pudney
Oisin Shaffrey
Josh Watkins
Jack Yount

Montana Women's Scholar-Athletes

Bianca Bostrom
Lauren Dunlap
Maria Goheen
Olivia Oosterbaan
Claudia Reguant
Julia Ronney
Alex Walker