Montana StationsKBZK


Montana steer wrestlers steal show during Red Lodge Home of Champions opener

Posted at 10:56 PM, Jul 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-07-03 13:24:17-04

RED LODGE — Saco’s Shawn Downing and Belgrade’s Josh Clark put up blazing 3.6-second times Tuesday to lead steer wrestling after Night 1 of the Red Lodge Home of Champions rodeo.

That left World No. 1 Ty Erickson in fifth after a 4.1 Tuesday morning in slack. The Helena cowboy will have to wait through two more days to see if he’ll add to his world lead.

Sheridan, Wyoming’s Devan Reilly leads the early bareback race after posting an 81.5 aboard Strawberry Rocket. Stetson Wright, meanwhile, leads the saddle bronc with an 87, after younger brother, World No. 1 Ryder Wright, was bucked off by Seasick Sally.

Clayton Sellars and Garrett Smith are tied for the bull riding lead after 84 points each. Ivy Hurst leads the barrel racing competition after a 17.27 in slack Tuesday morning, while Clint Nyegaard leads the tie-down roping event at 8.0 seconds.

Full results are below:

Bareback riding leaders: 1. Devan Reilly, 81.5 points on Burch Rodeo’s Strawberry Rocket; 2. Hunter Carter, 78; 3. (tie) Cole Reiner and Pascal Isabelle, 77 each; 5. (tie) Mark Kreder and Chance Merrill, 76 each.

Steer wrestling leaders: 1. (tie) Shawn Downing and Josh Clark, 3.6 seconds each; 3. Cody Cabral, 3.9; 4. Stan Branco, 4.0; 5. Ty Erickson, 4.1; 6. (tie) Will Lummus, Riley Duvall and Sterling Lambert, 4.2 each.

Team roping leaders: 1. Jr. Dees/Lane Siggins, 4.2 seconds; 2. Ty Blasingame/Brandon Bates, 4.3; 3. Coleman Proctor/Ryan Motes, 4.4; 4. (tie) Kaleb Driggers/Junior Nogueira, Garett Chick/Ross Ashford and Aaron Tsinigine/Patrick Smith, 4.5 each.

Saddle bronc riding leaders: 1. Stetson Wright, 87 points on Burch Rodeo’s Margarita Maker; 2. Jake Finlay, 81; 3. Preston Burr, 80.5; 4. Dawson Dahm, 75.5; 5. Brady Hill, 73; 6. Jesse Kruse, 72.

Tie-down roping leaders: 1. Clint Nyegaard, 8.0 seconds; 2. Logan Hofer, 8.4; 3. (tie) Randall Carlisle and Trenton Smith, 8.6 each; 5. (tie) Clayton Collmorgen and Adam Gray, 8.7 each.

Barrel racing leaders: 1. Ivy Hurst, 17.27 seconds; 2. Maggie Poloncic, 17.29; 3. Lacinda Rose, 17.39; 4. (tie) Lindsay Kruse and Halyn Lide, 17.55 each; 6. Tammy Fischer, 17.63.

Bull riding leaders: 1. (tie) Garrett Smith, on Burch Rodeo’s Zombie Too, and Clayton Sellars, on Brookman Rodeo’s Little Chubby, 84 points each; 3. J.W. Harris, 81.5; 4. Colten Fritzlan, 77.5; 5. Cullen Telfer, 72; no other qualified rides.

Total payoff: $110,696. Stock contractor: Brookman Rodeo. Sub-contractor: Burch Rodeo.