More Sports


Nance wins PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle; Lockwood fourth after round one

Posted at 3:13 PM, Apr 15, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-05 15:52:21-04

(PBR release)

TACOMA, Wash. – In front of an energetic Washington crowd on Saturday night, PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Cody Nance (Paris, Tennessee) won his first 15/15 Bucking Battle of the 2018 season at The 25th PBR: Unleash The Beast, Tacoma Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires, at the Tacoma Dome.

Nance, the only rider to record a qualified ride in the special round of competition, rode Painted Pudge (Culp Bucking Bulls) for 84.75 points. Starting the evening at No. 5 in the world standings, Nance’s impressive ride in the 15/15 moved him to No. 3 with only 64.17 points separating him from the No. 1 spot. For his effort, he gained 150 world points and a $21,000 paycheck.

Luciano De Castro (Guzolandia, Brazil) moved from No. 2 to the top of the world standings after delivering an 88.75-point ride aboard Beast of Burden (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/H&C Bucking Bulls) to win Round 1 earlier in the evening in Tacoma. The Brazilian cowboy gained 100 world points and a $3,580 paycheck.

The Top 10 riders are only separated by a mere 675 points amid a very tight 2018 World Championship race.

In a tie for second place in Round 1, Marco Eguchi (Poa, Brazil) and veteran rider Sean Willingham (Summerville, Georgia) put up matching 87.25-point scores. Eguchi conquered Freckles (Wentz Bucking Bulls/ New West Rodeos) to hold strong at the No. 26 spot in the world standings, while Willingham covered Jasper (Wentz Bucking Bulls/ New West Rodeos) to move from No. 50 to No. 42. Both gained 55 world points and $2,375. Willingham won the Tacoma event in 2006 and has already announced he will be retiring at the end of the 2018 season.

Reigning PBR World Champion Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana) finished in fourth place to hold his position at No. 7 in the world standings with an 86.25-point ride on Mortimer (Julio Moreno/ Dallas Schott). Lockwood collected 40 world points and a $1,300 paycheck.

Rounding out the Top 5 in Saturday’s Round 1 was Ramon de Lima (Sao Paulo, Brazil) with an 86-point trip aboard Stars & Stripes (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve). Lima gained 30 world points and pocketed $850. The finish moved him down in the world standings from the No. 1 spot to No. 2, a mere 30 points behind de Castro.

The best bull riders in the world will return to the Tacoma Dome on Sunday, April 15 for Round 2 and the championship round of the Tacoma Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires.

Fans can catch all the action from the 15/15 Bucking Battle on CBS at 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, April 15. Round 2 and the Championship Round can be watched on CBS Sports Network at 5 p.m. ET. Action from Round 1 will also be viewable Sunday starting at 8 a.m. ET on or via the RidePass mobile app.

25th PBR: Unleash The Beast
Tacoma Invitational 15/15
Tacoma Dome – Tacoma, WA
Event Leaders (Round 1 – Event Aggregate Event Points)
1. Cody Nance, 84.75-84.75-150 Points.
Luciano De Castro, 0-0.00
Ramon de Lima, 0-0.00
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0.00
Jess Lockwood, 0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0.00

25th PBR: Unleash The Beast
Tacoma Invitational presented by Cooper Tires
Tacoma Dome – Tacoma, WA
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Luciano De Castro, 88.75-0-0-88.75-100 Points.
2. Marco Antonio Eguchi, 87.25-0-0-87.25-55 Points.
(tie). Sean Willingham, 87.25-0-0-87.25-55 Points.
4. Jess Lockwood, 86.25-0-0-86.25-40 Points.
5. Ramon de Lima, 86-0-0-86.00-30 Points.
6. Eduardo Aparecido, 85.5-0-0-85.50-15 Points.
7. Brock Radford, 85.25-0-0-85.25-5 Points.
8. Cody Nance, 85-0-0-85.00
(tie). Stetson Lawrence, 85-0-0-85.00
10. Tye Chandler, 84.25-0-0-84.25
11. Kaique Pacheco, 84-0-0-84.00
12. Tanner Byrne, 83-0-0-83.00
13. Nathan Burtenshaw, 82.75-0-0-82.75
14. Silvano Alves, 76.75-0-0-76.75
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Marcilio, 0-0-0-0.00
Lucas Divino, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Heffernan, 0-0-0-0.00
Juan Carlos Contreras, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Campbell, 0-0-0-0.00
Colten Jesse, 0-0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Lindomar Lino, 0-0-0-0.00
Justin Granger, 0-0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Fernando Henrique Novais, 0-0-0-0.00
Rosendo Ramirez, 0-0-0-0.00