More Sports


Missoula Lady Bruins capture back-to-back state hockey championships

Posted at 10:41 PM, Feb 25, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-05 16:42:54-04


BOZEMAN – The Missoula Lady Bruins shut out Bozeman 2-0 for the second day in a row to win the MAHA (Montana Amateur Hockey Association) State Championship Tournament Sunday in Bozeman. It was the second consecutive year in which Missoula beat Bozeman for the state title.

Senior Cassidy Kerzman scored Missoula’ first goal on a pass from senior Sarah Knapp with 2:30 to go in the first period. Missoula went up 2-0 with 10 minutes remaining in the second period on a goal by junior Sid Triepke, who got the pass from eighth-grader Shaye Ewing. Missoula dominated the game and outshot the Ice Dawgs 45-7. Bozeman senior goalie Emily Gilmore had 43 saves in the game.

The Bozeman coaching staff selected Triepke as the MVP of the game and sophomore defender Jaden Nielsen as the winner of the Hustle Award. Nielsen made an incredible comeback this season after having knee surgery last May.

“It feels great to see this team accomplish all it set out to do this year,” said Missoula Head Coach Grace Hoene. “They have had a very successful season, and they really earned this title. They worked hard this year, and I think they had a great time. These girls were on the ice six days a week, including 6 am practice on Wednesday mornings, and they travelled a million miles almost every weekend since mid-November. Winning back-to-back state titles is not an easy thing to do in any sport. We are so proud of this team. What a year!”

With a four-game sweep at the tournament, the Lady Bruins finish the season with a 29-7-2 record.
Seniors Cassidy Kerzman, Sara Knapp and Elise Marquardt, as well as Triepke, were named to the 2018 MAHA all-state team, announced during Senior Recognition Saturday night.

In Sunday’s consolation game, Glasgow beat Flathead 6-3 to finish third.

Bozeman 2, Glasgow 0
Missoula 4, Flathead 0
Missoula 2, Bozeman 0
Flathead 3, Glasgow 3 TIE
Missoula 4, Glasgow 1
Bozeman 1, Flathead 1 TIE
CONSOLATION: Glasgow 6, Flathead 3
CHAMPIONSHIP: Missoula 2, Bozeman 0