More Sports


Elks District Hoop Shoot champions crowned

Posted at 3:20 PM, Jan 07, 2018
and last updated 2018-01-07 17:20:17-05

(Elks press release)

BIG TIMBER – Three girls and three boys, ages 8-13, were each crowned Champions at the Elks District “Hoop Shoot”® free throw contest Saturday at Sweet Grass High School in Big Timber.

First and second place trophies were awarded to each boy and girl in three categories: ages 8-9, 10-11 and 12-13. The contestants who participated at the District Hoop Shoot Contest were crowned Champions at their local Lodge Contest within the Montana Central District, comprised Bozeman #463, Beartooth (Red Lodge) #534 and Livingston #246. This year included a field of over 2,600 participants.

The 2018 district champions are:


Miya Hamilton, 8-9 Girls, Beartooth #534, Columbus, 18
Will Benne, 8-9 Boys, Bozeman #463, Bozeman 17

Kameryn Ketcham, 10-11 Girls, Livingston #246, Big Timber, 18
Mason Brosseau, 10-11 Boys, Billings #394, Billings, 18

Bailey Finn, 12-13 Girls, Livingston #246, Big Timber, 24
Fischer Brown, 12-13 Boys, Bozeman #463, Manhattan, 23

The six District Champions will advance to the Montana State Contest at Park High School in Livingston on February 3. They will compete against the Districts Champions from the other four Montana districts. The six Montana State Champions will then advance to the Regional Contest in Rapid City, SD, on March 10th; the National Finals are in Chicago, IL, on April 21st.

The names of all the national winners are engraved on plaques at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA.

This program is totally sponsored by the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of the U.S.A. It is endorsed by hundreds of school systems around the country. The Elks fund the program primarily through its National Foundation and the support of the local lodges and state associations. Travel and lodging expenses for the contestants and their parents are paid by the Elks.

The Elks “Hoop Shoot”®, began as a local program by Corvallis Oregon Elks in 1946, is in its 38th year of being a national competition. Over three million boys and girls are expected to participate this year.