Montana StationsKPAX


Former Missoula Hellgate standout Tres Tinkle one of 10 candidates for Julius Erving Award

Posted at 11:12 AM, Feb 06, 2019
and last updated 2019-02-06 13:12:53-05

(Editor’s note: Oregon State University media release)

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Tres Tinkle was named one of 10 candidates for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Named after Class of 1993 Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its fifth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball.

A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

“Julius Erving is well-known for his flare and competitive spirit which have made him one of the most admired and respected in the game across all generations,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The Naismith Starting 5 committee aims to recognize the student-athlete whose game most closely mirrors Dr. J and we’re now one step closer by cutting our watch list to down to the highly anticipated top ten.”

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5.

Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Tinkle is a redshirt junior from Missoula, where he was a two-time Montana Gatorade boys basketball player of the year at Hellgate High School. He’s the only NCAA Division I player averaging at least 20.0 points, 8.0 rebounds and 4.0 assists per College Basketball Reference. He’s also the only player in the Pac-12 in the top 10 in the league in scoring (second, 20.8), rebounding (fifth, 8.1), assists (eighth, 4.1) and steals (tied for third, 1.7).

He has scored in double figures in 55 consecutive games, the second-longest streak in Oregon State history, and has moved into 10th on Oregon State’s career scoring list with 1,452 points.

Tinkle was named the Pac-12 Player of the Week this past Monday after leading the Beavers to a road sweep over the Mountain schools with averages of 25.0 points, 7.0 rebounds and 3.5 assists. It was the third time in his career he’s been selected the Pac-12 Player of the Week.

2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Dylan Windler, Belmont
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga
Marial Shayok, Iowa State
Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Charles Matthews, Michigan
Caleb Martin, Nevada
Tres Tinkle, Oregon State
KZ Okpala, Stanford
Admiral Schofield, Tennessee
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia

The Julius Erving Award

Julius Erving attended the University of Massachusetts and averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds per game, making him one of only six NCAA men’s basketball players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game. After two seasons, Erving made the jump to the American Basketball Association and was the league’s most recognizable player when it merged with the National Basketball Association in 1976. During his professional career, Erving won three championships, four most valuable player awards and three scoring titles. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

“Julius Erving is well-known for his flare and competitive spirit which have made him one of the most admired and respected in the game across all generations,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “It is an honor to have his involvement in the Naismith Starting 5 and we look forward to recognizing the young man who most closely mirrors the passion and athleticism of Dr. J this season.”

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.