Montana StationsKPAX


Tres Tinkle named to Julius Erving Award watch list

Posted at 12:12 PM, Oct 17, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-17 14:12:59-04
Former Missoula Hellgate star Tres Tinkle, now a redshirt junior at Oregon State, was named to the Julius Erving Award Watch List. (SLIM KIMMEL/MTN Sports)

(Editor’s note: Oregon State media release)

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Tres Tinkle was one of 20 NCAA Division I student-athletes named to the watch list for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Named after Class of 1993 Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its fifth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and sponsored by Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Tinkle, who was a two-time Montana Gatorade player of the year while at Missoula Hellgate High School, was selected to the all-Pac-12 first team after averaging 17.6 points, 7.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 1.4 steals last season. He was the only player in the Pac-12 to score in double figures every game and has extended his streak to 35 consecutive contests in double digits, the fifth longest in Oregon State history.

The redshirt junior was also selected to the Julius Erving Award Watch List prior to the 2016-17 season.

2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Dylan Windler, Belmont
Cam Reddish, Duke
Elijah Minnie, Eastern Michigan
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga
Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Sam Hauser, Marquette
Aaron Wiggins, Maryland
Caleb Martin, Nevada
Nassir Little, North Carolina
Louis King, Oregon
Tres Tinkle, Oregon State
Lamar Stevens, Penn State
O’Shea Brissett, Syracuse
Admiral Schofield, Tennessee
Jordon Varnado, Troy
Kris Wilkes, UCLA
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia
Jaylen Hoard, Wake Forest
Matisse Thybulle, Washington
Robert Franks Jr., Washington State

The Julius Erving Award

Julius Erving attended the University of Massachusetts and averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds per game, making him one of only six NCAA men’s basketball players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game. After two seasons, Erving made the jump to the American Basketball Association and was the league’s most recognizable player when it merged with the National Basketball Association in 1976. During his professional career, Erving won three championships, four most valuable player awards and three scoring titles. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

“Julius Erving is well-known for his flare and competitive spirit which have made him one of the most admired and respected in the game across all generations,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “It is an honor to have his involvement in the Naismith Starting 5 and we look forward to recognizing the young man who most closely mirrors the passion and athleticism of Dr. J this season.”

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.