More College


Two Wyoming Cowboys named to NABC All-District team

Posted at 2:15 PM, Mar 13, 2018

(Wyoming release)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Wyoming’s Justin James and Hayden Dalton have been named All-District 17, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced Tuesday. James was a First Team selection with Dalton garnering Second Team honors. The award is voted on by member coaches of the NABC.

James, a native of Port Saint Lucie, Fla., was a First Team All-Mountain West selection this season averaging 18.9 points per game to go along with 6.0 rebounds per night and 3.1 assists per game. In conference play, James averaged 20.8 points per game ranking second in the MW. James scored 20 or more points 15 times this season including a career-high 33 points on two occasions. He shot 48 percent from the field going 207-of-430. James recorded six double-doubles on the season scoring 20 or more points in all six performances.

Dalton, a native of Parker, Colo., was a Second Team All-MW selection by the league’s coaches and First Team by media members from around the conference. Dalton averaged 17.7 points per game to go along with a team-high 7.8 rebounds per game. Dalton led the team with 85 three pointers for fifth in single-season history at Wyoming. Dalton scored 20 or more points 15 times this season including a career-high 36 points against San Diego State in the MW opener on Dec. 27. He led the Pokes with eight double-doubles on the season.

District 17
First Team
Chandler Hutchison, Boise State
Caleb Martin, Nevada
Justin James, Wyoming
Deshon Taylor, Fresno State
Jordan Caroline, Nevada

Second Team
Hayden Dalton, Wyoming
Brandon McCoy, UNLV
Shakur Juiston, UNLV
Koby McEwen, Utah State
Ryan Welage, San Jose State