More College


Wyoming chapter announces Scholar-Athlete of the Year nominees

Posted at 2:23 PM, Jan 23, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-06 09:30:34-04

(UW Athletics release)

WORLAND Wyo. –- The 99 nominees for this year’s Wyoming Chapter, National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete scholarships come from 35 different high schools from all five Wyoming prep football classifications plus the University of Wyoming.

The annual awards banquet is scheduled at the Marian Rochelle Gateway Center at the University of Wyoming on Saturday, March 17th. The finalists, the most outstanding back and lineman from each classification, will be honored with a $1,200 scholarship and a chance to be named Wyoming’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The Scholar-Athlete Awards are based 40 percent on football ability, 40 percent on academic achievement and 20 percent on community service. To qualify, a scholar-athlete must have a Grade Point Average of 3.0 or better.

Other awards will include a Courage and/or Perseverance Award to an athlete or athletes who have overcome serious injuries or medical conditions. The chapter also awards selected state residents with an outstanding contribution to amateur football award, the greatest UW and High School fans, an award for lifetime contributions to football officiating and an honor for an outstanding assistant coaches contribution.

The 2017 high school senior nominees for the Scholar-Athlete awards are:

Class – High School

1A-6 Braenn Smith Meeteetse
1A-6 Kayden Best Midwest
1A-6 John Corson Little Snake River
1A-6 Mark Largent Kaycee
1A Aidan McCurry Big Horn
1A Anthony Petersen Cokeville
1A Sterling Murdock Cokeville
1A Jake Heil Lusk
1A Haize Fornstrom Pine Bluffs
1A Wyatt Fornstrom Pine Bluffs
1A Wyatt Cox Saratoga
1A Chase Lovercheck Southeast
1A Sterling Werner Southeast
1A Tanner Hort Southeast
1A Brady Fullmer Southeast
1A Dawson Butts Upton
1A Damion Goff Wright
1A Steven Monson Wright
1A Tavin Salas Wright
1A Cole Thomas Wright

2A Chancy Hunt Big Piney
2A Tristan Barney Big Piney
2A Hezekhiah Sexson Glenrock
2A Brock Jones Glenrock
2A Richard Harris Glenrock
2A Dalton Davies Glenrock
2A Jadon Williams Glenrock
2A Cyrus Skidmore Kemmerer
2A Harlan Benedict Mountain View
2A Cameron Quigley Newcastle
2A Trevor Vaughn Wheatland

3A Ray Rabou Buffalo
3A Connor McLeod Cody
3A Jacob Deardorff Cody
3A Jordan Wasia Cody
3A Matthew Skinner Cody
3A Mac Simpson Cody
3A Reece Andre Cody
3A Dawson Bratton Douglas
3A Harley Rhoades Douglas
3A Collin Barker Douglas
3A Michael Yeaman Douglas
3A Chance Hofer Green River
3A Devin Love Green River
3A Cole White Green River
3A AJ Lewis Powell
3A Jaren Draper Riverton
3A Cosmo Morgan Star Valley
3A Doug Dickey Star Valley
3A Gavin Patterson Star Valley
3A Hunter Cranney Star Valley
3A Kaden Robinson Star Valley
3A Noah Hutchinson Star Valley
3A Payton Erickson Star Valley
3A Ronald Kaye Star Valley
3A Nathan Stitt Torrington
3A Jake Wamboldt Torrington

4A Riley Boltz Central
4A Keaton Bell Central
4A Dylan Reed East
4A Joshua Gross East
4A Nick Mirich East
4A Jacob Fogg East
4A Jakob Jones East
4A Tevan Chu East
4A Gunner Bartlett East
4A Braedon Davis East
4A Tommy Neal East
4A Jordan Baker East
4A Mathew Semler East
4A Colton Bell East
4A Jamis Lopez East
4A John Miller East
4A Logan Neuroth Kelly Walsh
4A Daylon Puckett Laramie
4A Garrett Worden Laramie
4A Cole Thorpen Natrona
4A Wesley Rice Natrona
4A Brett Brenton Natrona
4A Maeson Gallegos Natrona
4A Chris Brown Natrona
4A Jesse Harshman Natrona
4A Kyler Halverson Natrona
4A Ben Acres Natrona
4A Chance Wray Natrona
4A Tanner Smith Natrona
4A Dakota DeArmon Natrona
4A Kyle Custis Sheridan
4A Blayne Baker Sheridan
4A Coleman Worsley Thunder Basin
4A Austin Clementson Thunder Basin