High School Sports


Poplar making noise in latest Class B-C wrestling poll

Posted at 6:57 PM, Jan 16, 2019

GLASGOW — Days after winning the 2019 Choteau Classic wrestling tournament, the Poplar Indians jumped three spots to No. 5 in the latest Class B-C wrestling poll. Poplar sits behind top-ranked Colstrip, which is followed by Glasgow, Eureka and Huntley Project.

Poplar boasts a pair of second-ranked individuals, with Choteau Classic champions Hunter Reum and Trey Pribbernow sitting No. 2 in their respective weight classes — 145 pounds for Reum, 285 for Pribbernow. Jase Frederick (113 pounds) and Logan Boadle (132) are each ranked fifth.

Tyson Sutherland entered this week’s rankings at 205 pounds, landing at No. 3.

Colstrip continues to have four individuals ranked No. 1 — Jackson Currier (145), Ty Bradley (160), Nakoda Siegel (182) and Trey Yates (285). The Colts battled Class A Sidney in an inter-class dual on Tuesday evening in a battle of defending state champions.

Colten Fast, Oden Hallock and Dylan Nieskens paced Glasgow as top-ranked individuals, while there were no changes to the No. 1 wrestlers in each weight class this week.

Forsyth teammates Camron Reilly (120) and Michael Weber (152) continue their title quests for the Dogies, while Tanner Cook of Shepherd is atop the 113-pound weight class.

Krayle Stormer continues to lead Class C No. 1 Circle as the top-ranked 103-pound grappler, while teammate Trey Taylor remains No. 1 at 138. The Wildcats are ahead of Valier and Arlee in the Class C team poll.

Florence’s Spencer Jones is the other top-ranked wrestler at 205 pounds.

The complete results of this week’s poll can be found below.

2018-2019 Class B-C wrestling poll (Dec. 12)

Team rankings

Class B

Huntley Project
St. Ignatius-Charlo
Cut Bank

Class C


Individual rankings

103 pounds — Krayle Stormer (Circle), Weston Timberman (Columbus-Absarokee), Miguel Ramos (Fairfield), Leo Anderson (Townsend), Langdon Smith (Shepherd), Brad Connolly (Anaconda).

113 pounds — Tanner Cook (Shepherd), Trae Thilmony (Thompson Falls), Roger Mycke (Conrad), Tugg Taylor (Circle), Jase Frederick (Poplar), Dawson Powers (Whitehall).

120 pounds — Camron Reilly (Forsyth), Riley Richtmyer (Townsend), Roman Sparks (Thompson Falls), Cooper Cook (Shepherd), Ashton Christman (Huntley Project), Cody St. Clair (Jefferson).

126 pounds — Colten Fast (Glasgow), Clayton Donally (Huntley Project), Matt Connelly (Valier), Kyle Durden (Eureka), Trenton Walker (Whitehall), Matt Larson (Cut Bank).

132 pounds — Oden Hallock (Glasgow), Conner Johnson (Whitehall), Kolter Schipman (Malta), Nathan Schmidt (Eureka), Logan Boadle (Poplar), Dawson Buckalew (Colstrip).

138 pounds — Trey Taylor (Circle), Kaden Zimmerman (Glasgow), Josiah Vanderwall (Plains-Hot Springs), Pete Henderson (Choteau), Hank Dunn (Eureka), Colt Crawford (Arlee).

145 pounds — Jackson Currier (Colstrip), Hunter Reum (Poplar), Rylin Burns (Colstrip), Callen Mears (Malta), Darwin Adams (St. Ignatius-Charlo), Andrew Anderson (Cut Bank).

152 pounds — Michael Weber (Forsyth), Dylan Raihl (Columbus-Absarokee), Wyatt Brusven (Shelby), Kyler Hallock (Glasgow), Austin Vanek (Cut Bank), Isacc DuMontier (St. Ignatius-Charlo).

160 pounds — Ty Bradley (Colstrip), Kameron Rauser (Townsend), Sam Schmidt (Huntley Project), Avery Meinzen (Florence), Kyle Evans (Cascade), Gavin Pilkington (Eureka).

170 pounds — Dylan Nieskens (Glasgow), Cody Blaede (Colstrip), JR Seewald (Cut Bank), Isaiah Alik (St. Ignatius), Kameron Powell (Shepherd), Dillon Anderson (Fairfield).

182 pounds — Nakoda Siegel (Colstrip), Andres Lopez (Malta), Dakota Irvine (Thompson Falls), Justin Denton (Townsend), Orion MacDonald (Simms), Carter Morgen (Choteau).

205 pounds — Spencer Jones (Florence), Brent Monroe (Valier), Tyson Sutherland (Poplar), Beau Peterson (Colstrip), Lane Hinderager (Simms), Jadon Lamb (Townsend).

285 pounds — Trey Yates (Colstrip), Trey Pribbernow (Poplar), Reubin Swenson (Chester-Joplin-Inverness), Mayson Phipps (Glasgow), Journey Grimsrud (Huntley Project), Carter Beer (Columbus-Absarokee).