High School Sports


Glasgow wrestlers sneaking up Class B-C wrestling poll

Posted at 8:28 PM, Jan 09, 2019
Glasgow wrestlers march in the parade of athletes during the state wrestling tournament in 2018. (RICHIE MELBY/MTN Sports)

GLASGOW — First it was Colten Fast, now Oden Hallock and Dylan Nieskens have crept into the No. 1 spots in their respective weight classes of the Class B-C weekly wrestling polls.

The second-ranked Scotties, who are behind defending state champion Colstrip in the team poll, saw their defending state runner-up individuals Hallock (126 pounds) and Nieskens (170) top this week’s poll. Hallock, who was previously ranked at 138 pounds, is in the 132-pound division in this poll, while Nieskens is at 170 pounds after being ranked second at 182 in mid-December.

Fast climbed to the top spot at 126 before the holiday break, the only No. 1-ranked wrestler different than the previous week’s poll.

Other Scotties ranked include Kaden Zimmerman, No. 3 at 138 pounds; No. 6s John Crammer at 145 and Cooper Larson at 182; and Mayson Phipps, who is fourth in the 285-pound class.

Colstrip continues to be the heavy favorite in the Class B rankings, with Jackson Currier, Ty Bradley, Nakoda Siegel and Trey Yates all ranked No. 1 in their respective weight classes. Currier, Bradley and Siegel all won individual titles last winter, while Yates finished second. The Colts will join some of the top teams across all classes at the 61st annual Miles City Cowboy Invitational this weekend, with the tournament beginning Friday and crowning champions on Saturday.

Colstrip has a Tuesday dual meet at Class A power Sidney.

Eureka, Whitehall and Townsend round out the top five Class B teams, while Circle remains No. 1 in the Class C poll. Wildcat Krayle Stormer remains atop the 103-pound rankings and teammate Trey Taylor is No. 1 at 138 pounds. Valier is still second in the Class C poll, while Arlee made its first appearance in the team rankings at No. 3.

The complete results of this week’s poll can be found below.

2018-2019 Class B-C wrestling poll (Dec. 12)

Team rankings

Class B

Huntley Project
Cut Bank
St. Ignatius

Class C


Individual rankings

103 pounds — Krayle Stormer (Circle), Oliver Post (Florence), Weston Timberman (Columbus-Absarokee), Taylor Angle (Plains-Hot Springs), Miguel Ramos (Fairfield), Langdon Smith (Shepherd).

113 pounds — Tanner Cook (Shepherd), Trae Thilmony (Thompson Falls), Roger Mycke (Conrad), Tugg Taylor (Circle), Brady Ellison (Columbus-Absarokee), Dawson Powers (Whitehall).

120 pounds — Camron Reilly (Forsyth), Roman Sparks (Thompson Falls), Cooper Cook (Shepherd), Riley Richtmyer (Townsend), Cody St. Clair (Jefferson), Zach Valdez (Colstrip).

126 pounds — Colten Fast (Glasgow), Clayton Donally (Huntley Project), Matt Connelly (Valier), Kyle Durden (Eureka), Trenton Walker (Whitehall), Matt Larson (Cut Bank).

132 pounds — Oden Hallock (Glasgow), Conner Johnson (Whitehall), Kolter Schipman (Malta), Nathan Schmidt (Eureka), Conrad Vanderwall (Plains-Hot Springs), Mike Wilkinson (Whitehall)).

138 pounds — Trey Taylor (Circle), Hunter Reum (Poplar), Kaden Zimmerman (Glasgow), Pete Henderson (Choteau), Hank Dunn (Eureka), Josiah Vanderwall (Plains-Hot Springs).

145 pounds — Jackson Currier (Colstrip), Rylin Burns (Colstrip), Callen Mears (Malta), Andrew Anderson (Cut Bank), Chance Muller (Eureka), John Crammer (Glasgow).

152 pounds — Michael Weber (Forsyth), Dylan Raihl (Columbus-Absarokee), Wyatt Brusven (Shelby), Isacc DuMontier (St. Ignatius), Skyler Titsworth (Arlee), Austin Vanek (Cut Bank).

160 pounds — Ty Bradley (Colstrip), Kameron Rauser (Townsend), Sam Schmidt (Huntley Project), Avery Meinzen (Florence), Garis Robertson (Whitehall), Gavin Pilkington (Eureka).

170 pounds — Dylan Nieskens (Glasgow), Cody Blaede (Colstrip), JR Seewald (Cut Bank), Isaiah Alik (St. Ignatius), James Fehr (Eureka), Will Lane (Townsend).

182 pounds — Nakoda Siegel (Colstrip), Justin Denton (Townsend), Orion MacDonald (Simms), Drake Schake (Jefferson), Jacob Berger (Poplar), Cooper Larson (Glasow).

205 pounds — Spencer Jones (Florence), Brent Monroe (Valier), Jadon Lamb (Townsend), Andres Lopez (Malta), Bryan Ballard (Choteau), Beau Peterson (Colstrip).

285 pounds — Trey Yates (Colstrip), Trey Pribbernow (Poplar), Reubin Swenson (Chester-Joplin-Inverness), Mayson Phipps (Glasgow), Luke Lawless (Malta), Journey Grimsrud (Huntley Project).