High School Sports


Montana high school athletic directors of the year announced

Posted at 2:26 PM, Jan 25, 2019

The Montana Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (MIAAA) recently announced its 2018-19 athletic directors of the year.

Mark Ator of Colstrip was named the Montana athletic director of the year.

Doug Van Zee of Billings West was the Class AA winner, while Richy Powell of Billings Central earned the Class A honor. Powell, who is retiring after this school year, also won a Service Citation Award from the Montana High School Association at the MHSA Annual Meeting in Butte. West and Central won the Class AA and Class A state football championships in November, and Central added state titles in volleyball and girls soccer.

Larry Cady of St. Labre won the Class B award, and Bob Hogemark of Park City took the Class C honor.