High School Sports


Kalispell Flathead’s Ben Perrin, Billings Senior’s Tiahna Vladic highlight cross country state champions

Posted at 8:38 PM, Oct 20, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-20 22:40:47-04

MISSOULA — Kalispell Flathead’s Ben Perrin and Billings Senior’s Tiahna Vladic added to their running resumes on Saturday afternoon, claiming Class AA individual cross country state championships at the University of Montana Golf Course. Perrin crossed in 15 minutes, 43.6 seconds, finishing 12 seconds ahead of second-place Simon Hill of Kalispell Glacier for the boys title. Vladic claimed her title in 17:40.71, nearly 23 seconds ahead of runner-up Terra Trom of Bozeman to pace the girls.

In Class A, Laurel’s Levi Taylor was the boys champion, crossing the finish line in 16:18.24, 10 seconds ahead of second-place Sam Fulbright of Lewistown. On the girls side, Polson’s Bea Frissell won her second consecutive state title, finishing in 19:02.57.

Poplar sophomore Hudson Atkinson claimed the Class B boys state title, finishing ahead of a pair of Manhattan Tigers. Atkinson’s time of 16:18.21 was more than 16 seconds ahead of second place. Colstrip’s Whitney Hanson won the Class B girls state title, holding off a pair of freshmen to do so. Hanson’s time of 19:31.23 was just ahead of Huntley Project freshman Natalie Lile and Colstrip freshman Hayley Burns.

In Class C, Manhattan Christian’s boys had three runners inside the top five, including champion Riley Schott. Schott finished in 16:54.18. On the girls side, Seeley-Swan freshman Sariah Maughan crossed the tape in front of West Yellowstone’s Averi Parker to claim the state title. Maughan finished in 19:52.89, over 25 seconds ahead of Parker.

Bozeman’s boys team came away as the Class AA team champions, while Missoula Hellgate’s girls snapped Bozeman’s streak of state titles at 11. The Columbia Falls boys and Hardin girls were the Class A champions, the Manhattan boys and girls swept the Class B team titles, and Manhattan Christian’s boys and West Yellowstone’s girls claimed the Class C state titles.