High School Sports


Montana Coaches Association tabs 2019 fall coaches of the year

Posted at 3:41 PM, Dec 17, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-17 17:41:36-05

FORT SHAW -- The Montana Coaches Association announced its 2019 fall coaches of the year, with a host of state championship-winning mentors earning the award.

In all, 25 coach of the year honors were handed out to 22 coaches, with Bozeman's Casey Jermyn and Matt Clark joining Laurel's Jim O'Neil in winning the award for both boys and girls sports. Jermyn led Bozeman to boys and girls cross country titles, while Clark guided the Hawks' golf teams to state championships.

O'Neil oversaw the Laurel boys and girls golf championships this fall.

Bozeman added another coach of the year honor in Levi Wesche, after he led the Hawks to the Class AA football championship.

Other schools with multiple winners included Eureka and Manhattan Christian. Trevor Utter guided Eureka to the Class B football title, its second in three seasons, while colleague Andrew Gideon paced the Lions' boys cross country team to a Class B championship in Great Falls.

Manhattan Christian's Jill Ayers led the Eagles to the Class C volleyball championship, while Nate TeSlaa paced the Christian boys cross country team to a fourth Class C title in as many years.

All honorees will be celebrated at the 2020 Montana Coaches Association awards ceremony on July 30 at 11:30 a.m. at Great Falls CMR High School.

The complete list of 2019 MCA fall coach of the year awards can be found below. Coaches must hold an MCA membership to qualify for the awards.

Montana Coaches Association fall coaches of the year

Class AA -- Levi Wesche, Bozeman
Class A -- Jeff Regan, Miles City
Class B -- Trevor Utter, Eureka
8-Man -- Levi Seitz, Fairview
6-Man -- Craig Lunde, Wibaux

Class AA -- Rebecca Cleveland, Helena Capital
Class A -- Laurie Jones, Corvallis
Class B -- Iona Stookey, Huntley Project
Class C -- Jill Ayers, Manhattan Christian

Boys cross country
Class AA -- Casey Jermyn, Bozeman
Class A -- James Peacock, Columbia Falls
Class B -- Andrew Gideon, Eureka
Class C -- Nate TeSlaa, Manhattan Christian

Girls cross country
Class AA -- CAsey Jermyn, Bozeman
Class A -- Cindy Farmer, Hardin
Class B -- Brooke Dolan, Townsend
Class C -- Zelda Haines, Seeley-Swan

Boys golf
Class AA -- Matt Clark, Bozeman
Class A -- Jim O'Neil, Laurel

Girls golf
Class AA -- Matt Clark, Bozeman
Class A -- Jim O'Neil, Laurel

Boys soccer
Class AA -- Jay Anderson, Missoula Hellgate
Class A -- Nolan Trafton, Billings Central

Girls soccer
Class AA -- Erika Cannon, Bozeman
Class A -- Aloma Jess, Laurel