High School SportsHigh School Football


Butte Silver B’s to recognize 1993 Butte High football team

Posted at 1:16 PM, Oct 11, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-11 15:17:43-04
Naranche Stadium is one of Montana’s most storied high school football stadiums. (SLIM KIMMEL/MTN Sports)

(Editor’s note: Butte High Silver B’s media release)

BUTTE — Members of the Butte High School football team of 1993 will join the ranks of the Butte High Silver B’s on Oct. 12 before the Butte High Bulldogs take on the Great Falls High Bison in a Class AA contest, which will be held at storied Naranche Stadium. Kickoff is slated for 7:30 p.m.

The Silver B Organization is composed of men who earned their varsity football letters at Butte Public High School 25 years ago or more. Scott Paffhausen is the President/Historian and Dean Ericson is the Secretary/Treasurer of the group. There are also inductions for Golden B’s, players who earned their first varsity football letter 50 years ago, and Diamond B’s, players who lettered 75 years ago.

This year will see the inductions of those who first lettered for the Bulldogs in 1993 as Silver B’s, in 1968 as Golden B’s, and in 1943 as Diamond B’s.

2018 Inductees

1993 Butte High Silver B’s

The 1993 squad was coached by Jon McElroy. This was the legendary coach’s final squad at Butte High. McElroy retired after completing his 18th year as the head coach.

Derek Anderson, Bob Becky, Luke Blaskovich, Mike Boysza, Matt Cleveland, Trevor Fitz, Jason Hirigoyen, Jason Jaeger, Paul Jenkins, Joddy Knoell, Geno Liva, Brendon Martinez, Shane McCarthy, Brandon McGillvray, Todd Meldahl, Ryan Peuse, Russ Phillips, Mike Reilly, Brian Staack, Bo Swisher, Jeff Tamblyn, Nathan Tamblyn and Forrest Wesen.

1968 Butte High Golden B’s

The 1968 squad was coached by Sonny Lubick, who went on to have a long and illustrious career as a college football coach.

Mike Boysza, Jay Burns, Mike Byrd, Doug Cleveland (Deceased), Paul Cutler, RJ “Rodney” Daum, Steve Hawke, Dan Hazlett, Roger Knoell, Sam Milodragovich, Tom Mitchell, Ed Petrin (Deceased), Scott Reed and Bob Teller.

1943 Butte High Diamond B’s (No Inductees)

The 1943 squad was coached by the legendary Harry “Swede” Dahlberg. All first-year lettermen from the 1943 squad are now deceased. The Silver B’s would still like to honor the following gentlemen from the 1943 team:
Frank Briney, Mel Fisher, Pat Galvin, Dr. Donald George, John Johnson, John Kello, Don McTavish, Elmer Nordstrom, Earl Parkin, Joe Quilici, Rod Salo, Jim Snow, Jack Thomas, Jack Turner and Leonard Vigus.