High School SportsHigh School Football


Minimal movement in MontanaSports.com football polls

Posted at 3:35 PM, Sep 30, 2018

Montana’s high school football teams are making us look good.

Another weekend’s slate of games passed with minimal movement in the weekly MontanaSports.com football polls, the goal of our voters. Teams continue to live up to our expectations, though there were a couple contests between ranked teams that created a couple of changes.

For instance, Helena High’s come-from-behind win over Great Falls High vaulted the Bengals ahead of the Bison, while Billings Senior also crept ahead of Mark Samson’s squad in the Class AA polls. Fairview took supreme ownership of the 8-Man East, blasting fellow unbeaten Culbertson 56-14, leading to the Cowboys’ removal from the polls. In fact, Culbertson was the only team ranked last week to fall from the polls. Undefeated Shelby, which blew out an unbeaten Centerville team, climbed into the rankings.

Classes A and B, as well as 6-Man, remained exactly the same, while the previous top-ranked teams are still No. 1 and all undefeated. Bozeman, Billings Central, Bigfork, Drummond-Philipsburg and Wibaux top the polls.

The full rankings, which are determined by the MTN Sports team, are below. Teams which also received consideration but ultimately fell just outside our top five are also included. Team records are through Sept. 29 and unofficial.

Class AA

  1. Bozeman (6-0)
  2. Billings West (5-1)
  3. Helena High (5-1)
  4. Billings Senior (4-2)
  5. Great Falls High (4-2)

Receiving votes: Kalispell Flathead (4-2).

Class A

  1. Billings Central (6-0)
  2. Hamilton (6-0)
  3. Columbia Falls (4-1)
  4. Frenchtown (6-0)
  5. Dillon (4-1)

Receiving votes: Laurel (5-1), Lewistown (5-1).

Class B

  1. Bigfork (6-0)
  2. Fairfield (5-0)
  3. Roundup (5-0)
  4. Missoula Loyola (5-1)
  5. Big Timber (5-0)

Receiving votes: Colstrip (5-1).


  1. Drummond-Philipsburg (5-0)
  2. Fairview (5-0)
  3. Great Falls Central (5-0)
  4. Joliet (5-0)
  5. Shelby (5-0)

Receiving votes: Charlo (4-1).


  1. Wibaux (5-0)
  2. Geraldine-Highwood (5-1)
  3. Richey-Lambert (5-1)
  4. Grass Range-Winnett (7-0)
  5. Westby-Grenora (5-1)

Receiving votes: Hot Springs (5-1).