High School Sports


Bozeman golfers impress at opening day of Eastern AA golf divisional

Justus Verge leads boys; Yates and Knarr tied
Golf ball generic
Posted at 9:16 PM, Sep 24, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-25 11:36:46-04

BILLINGS -- Justus Verge has the Bozeman Gallatin boys in prime position to win the program's first divisional golf crown after the Raptors opened a 21-stroke lead at the Eastern AA divisional golf invitational on Thursday at Peter Yegen Golf Club.

Verge, who won last fall's Class AA state golf championship while competing for Bozeman High, carded a 4-under-par 67 and leads Great Falls CMR's Eli Groshelle by a single stroke after the opening 18 holes of the divisional invite.

Verge's twin brother, Jordan, sits in third place with a 1-over-par 72, while Raptor teammates Ramey Lloyd and Stevie Voigt fired identical 73s to tie for fourth.

Billings Senior is second in the team standings behind Cade Wagner's 4-over 75.

The Bozeman girls, who haven't lost an invitational all season, have a 15-stroke lead over Billings West, with Sami Yates and Cooper Knarr atop the leaderboard. Yates and Knarr shot 4-over-par 75s Thursday to take two-stroke leads over Billings Skyview golfers Meilyn Armstrong and Cierra Sundheim, who posted 77s. The Falcons are third in the team standings, one stroke behind West.

The Golden Bears were led by Kadence Fischer's 78.

The top four teams, made up of five golfers, will qualify for next week's Class AA state invitational in Missoula. The top 10 individuals outside of those top four teams will also advance to the meet, which begins Oct. 1 at Larchmont Golf Course.

Golfers will tee off Friday morning to conclude the 36-hole tournament. For scores from the Western AA divisional at Fairmont Hot Springs, please click here.

Results from the first day of the Eastern AA divisional can be found below.

Eastern AA divisional golf
Round 1 results

Boys team scores

To par Total score
Bozeman Gallatin +1285
Billings Senior+22306
Billings West +38 322
Great Falls CMR+44328
Billings Skyview+47331
Great Falls High+77361

Boys individual scores

Justus Verge (Gallatin)-467
Eli Groshelle (CMR)-368
Jordan Verge (Gallatin)+172
Ramey Lloyd (Gallatin)+273
Stevie Voigt (Gallatin)+273
Logan Connolly (Skyview)+374
Tye Boone (Skyview)+475
Cade Wagner (Senior)+475
Treyden Haber (West)+576
Siam Wilailuck (Senior)+576
Reece Mayala (Senior)+576
Anthony Madison (Belgrade)+778
Tyler Brunner )Senior)+879
Connor Halligan (West) +10 81
Joseph Driscoll (Senior) +10 81
Jacob Brandon (Bozeman)+1081
Croix Flohr (West)+1182
Trenton Olson (GFH)+1182
Nate Pailthorpe (Bozeman)+1182
Jacob Wassmer (West)+1283
Brodie Falk (Belgrade)+1283
Noah Hollenback (CMR)+1283
Bryant Rivenbark (Bozeman)+1384
Dylan Couture (Bozeman)+1384
Mitchell Fogelsong (West)+1485
Jaxson Hinshaw (Belgrade)+1485
Fox Weymouth (CMR)+1485
Michael Perkins (GFH)+1586
Gavin Klein (Gallatin)+1586
James Broderick (Bozeman)+1687
Jacob Maroney (Belgrade)+1788
Ridge Wohler (Skyview)+1889
Carter Corn (CMR)+2192
Dylan Rickman (Skyview)+2293
Justin Garcia (Belgrade)+2293
Carter Philipps (CMR)+2394
Wyeth Hayes (GFH)+2596
Luke Huber (GFH)+2697
Josh Ebel (Skyview)+2798
Tate Swanson (GFH)+29100

Girls team scores

To par Total score
Billings West+47331
Billings Skyview+48332
Billings Senior+52336
Bozeman Gallatin +55 339
Great Falls CMR +117 401
Great Falls HighNANA

Girls individual scores

To parTotal score
Sami Yates (Bozeman) +475
Cooper Knarr (Bozeman) +4 75
Meilyn Armstrong (Skyview)+677
Cierra Sundheim (Skyview)+677
Kadence Fischer (West)+778
Kenzie Walsh (Senior)+879
Halle Vandersloot (Gallatin)+980
Bella Johnson (West)+1081
Sami Benson (Senior)+1081
Annika Brocklebank (West)+1182
Sara Priebe (Bozeman)+1182
Addiley Lloyd (Gallatin)+1283
Morgan Sunchild (GFH)+1384
Franchi Ceartin (Bozeman)+1384
Kelly Jones (GFH)+1485
Lauren Mayala (Senior)+1586
Kaitlyn Hensel (Skyview)+1788
Zoie Ceartin (Gallatin)+1788
Ella Torsleff (Gallatin)+1788
Megan Voegele (West)+1990
Avery Fawcett (Senior)+1990
Alex Miller (Skyview)+1990
Barbara McGregor (West)+2091
Elly Atkins (Bozeman)+2091
Kendra Thayer (CMR)+2495
Alex Madsen (CMR)+2697
Bryn Turnquist (Senior)+2899
Ryann Walker (CMR)+2899
Breanna Williams (Skyview)+30101
Jordan Whitaker (Belgrade)+32103
Leila Mamangnum (Belgrade)+34105
Riley McHahon (Belgrade)+34105
Tristan Zaremski (CMR)+39110
Cassidy Levert (Gallatin)+41112
Brynn Butler (Belgrade)+42113
Isabella Corn (CMR)+47118
Addison O'Neill (GFH)+52123
Alyssa Lineback (Belgrade)+57128