High School Sports


Bigfork’s Santistevan, Three Forks’ Olson named State B MVPs

Posted at 10:06 AM, Mar 15, 2018

MISSOULA — After helping their teams to State B basketball championships, Bigfork’s Beau Santistevan and Three Forks’ Kyle Olson took home tournament MVP honors. Media members compiled boys and girls all-tournament teams.

Santistevan, a 6-foot-6 senior, averaged 17 points and 9.3 rebounds per game during the state tournament while shooting 68.4 percent from the floor, 66.7 percent from 3-point range and 87.5 percent from the free throw line. Santistevan had 18 points, going 11 of 11 from the charity stripe, and nine rebounds in the Vikings’ championship win over Shelby.

Olson averaged 21.3 points, 8.3 steals and 6.0 rebounds per game during the Wolves’ title run. The 5-6 junior had 34 points (on 12-of-20 shooting, including six of 11 from 3-point range) and nine steals in Three Forks’ first-round win over Poplar. Olson had 21 points and 10 steals in the championship against Colstrip.

Santistevan is joined by teammate Anders Epperly on the all-tournament first team. TJ Reynolds and Aaron White, who helped Shelby to the runner-up finish, are also first-team selections. Kendall Windy Boy of third-place Rocky Boy rounds out the first team.

Three Forks’ Shainy Mack joins Olson on the girls first team, which also features Amaya LaFranier of runner-up Colstrip, Tavia Rooney of third-place Townsend and Imani Bighorn of Poplar.

The complete State B boys and girls all-tournament teams are below.

State B boys all-tournament team

First team

Beau Santistevan, Bigfork (MVP)
Anders Epperly, Bigfork
TJ Reynolds, Shelby
Aaron White, Shelby
Kendall Windy Boy, Rocky Boy

Second team

Mylon Blacksmith, Lodge Grass
Braxton Hill, Anaconda
Ben Iron Eyes, Rocky Boy
Ry Olson, Joliet
Isaiah Williams, Colstrip

State B girls all-tournament team

First team

Kyle Olson, Three Forks (MVP)
Imani Bighorn, Poplar
Amaya LaFranier, Colstrip
Shainy Mack, Three Forks
Tavia Rooney, Townsend

Second team

Morgan Allen, Three Forks
Shelby Jordan, Colstrip
Alleen Russell, Poplar
Darcy Walker, Deer Lodge
Charlotte Watson, Townsend