High School Sports


Melstone boys, Ekalaka girls lead District 4C all-conference

Posted at 4:41 PM, Mar 14, 2018

The Melstone boys, after placing third at the State C boys basketball tournament, led District 4C with four players receiving all-conference honors, including two players receiving all-state honors.

Brody Grebe and Beni Jankovits were named all-state, while Shayden Cooke and Thomas DeJaegher were named all-conference. Kale Gierke and Aaron Morast of Terry and Cobe Begger of Wibaux were also named all-state.

Ekalaka, the girls Southern C divisional girls champion, had three players named to the all-conference team. Claire Callahan and Hannah LaBree were named all-conference, while Hannah’s sister Heather LaBree was named all-state.

The complete District 4C all-conference and all-state selections are below.

District 4C boys basketball all-conference teams

* Indicates all-state

Brody Grebe, Melstone *
Cobe Begger, Wibaux *
Kale Gierke, Terry *
Aaron Morast, Terry *
Beni Jankovits, Melstone *
Keenan Murnion, Jordan
Kobe chase, Terry
Matlock Morrison, Custer-Hysham
Brem Phipps, Jordan
Shayden Cooke, Melstone
Tel Lunde, Wibaux
Mick O’Connor, Ekalaka
Thomas DeJaegher, Melstone
Chance Larson, Wibaux

District 4C girls basketball all-conference teams

* Indicates all-state

Heather LaBree, Ekalaka *
Laiten Lantis, Terry *
Draya Wacker, Melstone *
Toni Schieffer, Wibaux *
Tawney Stanton, Jordan *
Hannah LaBree, Ekalaka
Loni Kortum, Terry
Lani Schieffer, Wibaux
Shayla Hough, Melstone
Kiarah Coulter, Broadus
Emily Prokop, Custer-Hysham
Marni Schieffer, Wibaux
Laura Harrington, Broadus
Claire Callahan, Ekalaka