High School Sports


Havre girls pace Class A all-state, all-conference teams

Posted at 8:32 AM, Mar 14, 2018

State girls basketball champion Havre High School led the Class A all-state honors with three athletes, according to coaches across the state. The all-conference and all-state selections were announced on Tuesday.

Blue Pony seniors Marca Herron and Danielle Wallace were each honored with all-state selections from the Central A, as was sophomore teammate Kendall Keller. The trio guided Havre to an undefeated season last Saturday, defeating Hardin 42-35 in the State A championship game. Herron, a University of Providence signee, scored 11 points against the Bulldogs. Wallace chipped in with seven points and four rebounds, while Keller scored a game-high 12 points to go with her six rebounds.

Karissa DuShane and Sharmayne Hardy each represented runner-up Hardin on the all-state team. The seniors led the Bulldogs to second-place honors in both the Eastern A divisional and State A tournaments.

Columbia Falls, which finished third at the state tournament, saw seniors Dani Douglas and Hannah Gedlaman reach all-state status from the Northwestern A. Ronan’s Micalann McCrea and Browning’s Ronnal Jordan were also honored by the league.

The complete list of Class A all-conference and all-state honors can be found below.

Class A girls basketball

* indicates all-state selection

Central A

First team

*Gabby Weber, So., Belgrade
*Kyndall Keller, So., Havre
*Marca Herron, Sr., Havre
*Danielle Wallace, Sr., Havre
Anna Zimmer, Jr., Lewistown

Second team

Kodie Vondra, Fr., Livingston
Hanna Hayes, Sr., Lewistown
Bailey Christensen, Jr., Belgrade
Kaylee Nystrom, Sr., Havre
Kiah Hohenstein, Sr., Belgrade

Honorable Mention

Kyley Verploegen, Sr., Havre
Hannah Gee, Sr., Belgrade
Kadia Miller, So., Havre
Danielle Babcox, Jr., Livingston

Coach of the year: Dustin Kraske, Havre

Southwestern A

First team

*Cariann Kunkel, Sr., Hamilton
*Kloie Thatcher, Sr., Butte Central
*Brynley Fitzgerald, Sr., Dillon
*Alivia Williams, Sr., Frenchtown
Megan Michelotti, Sr., Butte Central

Second team

Lauren Ryter, Sr., Hamilton
Tessa Della Silva, Sr., Hamilton
Kylie Willett, Sr., Frenchtown
Megan Delaney, Sr., Frenchtown
Angel Richards, Jr., Stevensville

Honorable mention

Tricia Joyce, Jr., Butte Central
Calla Haldorson, Jr., Corvallis
Mallory McGill, Sr., Hamilton
Paige Rouse, Sr., Dillon
Olivia Bolton, Sr., Butte Central
Megan Pendergast, Sr., Stevensville

Coach of the year: Mark Albert, Hamilton

Northwestern A

First team

*Micalann McCrea, Sr., Ronan
*Dani Douglas, Sr., Columbia Falls
*Ronnal Jordan, Sr., Browning
*Hannah Gedlaman, Sr., Columbia Falls
Olivia Hall, Sr., Browning

Second team

Jayden Winslow, Jr., Libby
Ryley Kehr, Jr., Columbia Falls
Shannon Reny, Sr., Libby
Tamika Guardipee, So., Browning
Dulci Skunkcap, So., Browning

Honorable mention

Trista Cowan, Jr., Columbia Falls
Taylor Jordan, Jr., Browning
Annisa Brown, Sr., Whitefish
Kaelyn Smith, Sr., Polson
Alli Collins, Jr., Libby
Jaelyn Askan, Sr., Ronan

Co-coaches of the year: Cary Finberg, Columbia Falls; Ray Augare, Browning

Eastern A

First team

*Aspen Cotter, Jr., Laurel
*Karissa DuShane, Sr., Hardin
*Sharmayne Hardy, Sr., Hardin
*Olivia Moten-Schell, So., Billings Central
Karsen Murphy, So., Glendive

Second team

Aiyana Ereaux, Sr., Hardin
Marie Five, So., Hardin
Kyra Oakland, Jr., Miles City
Sammi Spitzer, So., Laurel
Savannah Toms, So., Glendive

Honorable mention

Zoie Altolf, So., Billings Central
Isabelle Erickson, Fr., Billings Central
Every Fritzle, So., Hardin
Paige O’Toole, Sr., Laurel
Madison Rask, Jr., Miles City
Jaley Wyse, Sr., Glendive