High School Sports


Anaconda boys, Florence girls highlight District 6B honors teams

Posted at 12:24 PM, Mar 14, 2018

Anaconda’s Braxton Hill, Trent Mikalatos and Bobby Swainston earned District 6B all-conference recogntion after the Copperheads qualified for the State B boys basketball tournament for the second consecutive year.

Hill, the program’s all-time leading scorer, was named to Class B’s all-state team alongside Marcus Zeiler of Florence and Jack Lincoln of Missoula Loyola. Mikalatos was a first-team all-conference selection, while Swainston was a second-team choice.

David Koppang of Missoula Loyolaa and Dyllon McDermid of Deer Lodge rounded out the District 6B first team.

On the girls side, Florence placed three girls on the all-conference team, including all-state selection Danielle Zahn. Rilee Mangun and Syd Koppang were also first-team all-conference choices.

Missoula Loyola’s Tessa Burke and Syd Koppang, Anaconda’s Sydnie Peterson and Deer Lodge’s Darcy Walker make up the rest of the District 6B all-conference first team with Burke and Peterson also garnering all-state honors.

District 6B’s complete all-conference and all-state selections are below.

District 6B boys basketball

* indicates all-state

First team

Braxton Hill, sr., Anaconda*
Marcus Zeiler, sr., Florence*
Jack Lincoln, jr., Missoula Loyola*
Trent Mikalatos, sr., Anaconda
David Koppang, sr., Missoula Loyola
Dyllon McDermid, jr., Deer Lodge

Second team

Wacy McClure, jr., St. Ignatius
Jacob Hollenback, jr., Missoula Loyola
Joey McElroy, sr., Missoula Loyola
Tyce Pedersen, sr., Florence
Bobby Swainston, sr., Anaconda
Brent Stroppel, sr., Florence

Coach of the year: Bill Hill, Anaconda

District 6B girls basketball

* indicates all-state

First team

Danielle Zahn, jr., Florence*
Tessa Burke, sr., Missoula Loyola*
Sydnie Peterson, sr., Anaconda*
Rilee Mangun, jr., Florence
Darcy Walker, sr., Deer Lodge
Syd Koppang, so., Missoula Loyola
Makenna Liles, jr., Florence

Second team

Rachel Nicholson, so., Deer Lodge
Kylie Esh, sr., Missoula Loyola
Logan Stetzner, so., Anaconda
Jewel Zeiler, sr., Florence
Ariel Clark, sr., Deer Lodge

Coach of the year: Travis Walker, Missoula Loyola