High School Sports


Helena High’s Hilborn, Pickens named co-MVPs; State AA all-tournament team released

Posted at 5:57 PM, Mar 12, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-05 16:36:44-04

BILLINGS — The number “two” is becoming something special for the Helena High girls basketball team.

The Bengals, who just won their second consecutive State AA championship, added a pair of most valuable players on Monday after senior Kamden Hilborn and junior Jamie Pickens were named co-MVPs of the state tournament. Media members in attendance voted on the honors.

Hilborn was outstanding in Saturday’s state championship game, a 53-49 win over Missoula Sentinel, scoring a game-high 22 points on an 8-of-11 shooting performance, including four 3-pointers. She added six rebounds, one steal, one assist and a block in her final high school basketball game.

Hilborn was selected MVP in last season’s state tournament after Helena defeated Sentinel in Great Falls. The three-sport standout told MTN Sports she is still undecided on her college future.

Pickens, a Montana Grizzly commit, had eight points, nine rebounds, four blocks and three assists on Saturday. Her future teammates at UM, Jordyn Schweyen and Kylie Frohlich, were each named first-team all-tournament for Sentinel.

Bozeman’s Ayla Embry was the other first-team selection.

The complete all-tournament team can be found below.

2017-2018 State AA girls basketball


Kamden Hilborn, Helena High (co-MVP)
Jamie Pickens, Helena High (co-MVP)
Jordyn Schweyen, Missoula Sentinel
Kylie Frohlich, Missoula Sentinel
Ayla Embry, Bozeman


Kola Bad Bear, Billings Senior
Taylor Sullivan, Helena Capital
Kacie Gross, Helena Capital
Anna Schrade, Kalispell Glacier
Alex Carey, Bozeman

Honorable mention

Shelby Schweyen, Missoula Sentinel
Kali Gulick, Kalispell Glacier
McKayla Kloker, Helena High
Lexi Deden, Missoula Sentinel
Shayla Montague, Billings West
Katie Culver, Helena Capital
TyLee Manuel, Billings West
Addison Gardner, Great Falls CMR
Angelle Diamond, Bozeman
Sydney Sheridan, Helena Capital
Hannah Wheeler, Bozeman
Ellie Stevens, Kalispell Glacier
Ambreya Windy Boy, Billings West
Emily Feller, Helena High
Cadie Williams, Kalispell Glacier
Kyra Willis, Great Falls CMR