High School Sports


Hamilton paces Class A boys all-state team

Posted at 10:18 AM, Mar 06, 2018

BOZEMAN — The Hamilton Broncs didn’t leave Brick Breeden Fieldhouse with the trophy they hoped for, but the Southwest A champions added some fine postseason honors to their third-place trophy from the State A tournament.

The Broncs led Class A with three all-state selections — senior Carter Kearns and juniors Hunter Omlid and Tanner Goligoski — after the all-conference and all-state teams were announced on Tuesday. The trio helped pace the Broncs to the only undefeated regular-season record in Class A, and finished the season with only a first round loss to Billings Central in the state tournament.

State A champion Hardin saw senior David Evans and sophomore Famous Lefthand earn an all-state honors, while runner-up Billings Central landed junior Chrishon Dixon on the all-state team. The Bulldogs defeated the Rams 47-43 in Saturday’s championship. Evans led the way with 17 points and 10 rebounds for Hardin in the championship game, while Dixon had 15 points, seven rebounds and four assists.

Lewistown’s sensational duo of Jaden Graham and Tanner Trafton, each juniors, were also named all-state by league coaches. Browning was also honored with a pair of athletes in senior Brandon Aimsback and junior Tyree Whitcomb.

The complete list of all-conference and all-state selections in Class A boys basketball can be found below.

2017-18 Class A boys basketball
All-conference and all-state selections

Southwest A (* denotes all-state selection)

First-team all-conference

*Carter Kearns, senior, Hamilton
*Hunter Omlid, junior, Hamilton
*Adam Botkin, senior, Frenchtown
*Tanner Goligoski, junior, Hamilton
Luke Heaphy, sophomore, Butte Central

Second-team all-conference

Cade Baker, sophomore, Frenchtown
Clay Allison, senior, Dillon
Cam Rothie, junior, Hamilton
Cade Holter, junior, Butte Central
Ethan Pyron, senior, Frenchtown

Honorable mention

Dalton Bragg, senior, Stevensville
Matt Simkins, sophomore, Butte Central
Jace Fitzgerald, freshman, Dillon
Ryan Jessop, senior, Corvallis
Logan Roth, junior, Stevensville

Southwest A coach of the year: Travis Blome, Hamilton

Central A (* denotes all-state selection)

First-team all-conference

*Dawson Fowler, senior, Belgrade
*Jaden Graham, junior, Lewistown
*Tanner Trafton, junior, Lewistown
Jakim Rikketts, senior, Livingston
Rydell Floyd, senior, Livingston

Second-team all-conference

Easton Page, junior, Belgrade
Noel Reynolds, senior, Belgrade
Trey Murphy, senior, Havre
John Waddell, junior, Livingston
Wes Jameson, junior, Lewistown

Honorable mention

Austin Edwards, senior, Belgrade
Jake Clinton, junior, Lewistown
Ivar Aageson, senior, Havre
Brendon Johnson, sophomore, Livingston

Central A coach of the year: Layne Glaus, Livingston

Eastern A (* denotes all-state selection)

First-team all-conference

*David Evans, senior, Hardin
*Chrishon Dixon, junior, Billings Central
*Bridger Larson, junior, Sidney
*Famous Lefthand, sophomore, Hardin
*Stephen Steinbron, junior Glendive

Second-team all-conference

Sam Gray, junior, Billings Central
Trae Hugs, sophomore, Hardin
Gaue Leichter, junior, Laurel
Cayden Redfield, sophomore, Hardin
Kayden Stradley, junior Miles City

Honorable mention

Liam Clancy, senior, Billings Central
Gabe Gunlauch, senior, Miles City
Camden Hill, senior, Laurel
Robby Keiser II, senior, Glendive
Paycen Partridge, junior, Glendive
Seth Sasich, senior, Billings Central

Northwest A (* denotes all-state selection)

First-team all-conference

*Ryggs Johnston, junior, Libby
*Tyree Whitcomb, junior, Browning
*Shade Main, senior, Polson
*Brandon Aimsback, senior, Browning
Ezekiel Misa, senior, Ronan

Second-team all-conference

Connor Lanier, junior, Polson
Anthony Camel, junior, Ronan
Lee Walburn, junior, Whitefish
Matthew Morrison, senior, Columbia Falls
Nathaniel Stiffarm, senior, Browning

Honorable mention

Dallas Durheim, junior, Ronan
JJ Davis, junior, Libby
Quintin Schriller, senior, Columbia Falls
Ryan Kemp, junior, Whitefish
Brian Peck, junior, Libby
Robin Erickson, junior, Polson

Northwest A coach of the year: Daniel Connelly, Browning