High School Sports


Eureka, Colstrip, Glasgow top final Class B-C wrestling poll

Posted at 9:43 AM, Feb 08, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-05 16:55:33-04

GLASGOW — The top three Class B programs entering the weekend’s all-class state wrestling tournament all figure to be in the running for a team championship.

Defending champion Eureka was voted No. 1 in the final regular season poll, edging Colstrip, Glasgow and Malta for the top spot in the Class B coaches polls. The Lions won the Western B-C divisional last weekend and enter the state tournament with two of the top-ranked wrestlers in the class — Nathan Schmidt at 120 pounds and Garrett Graves at 182.

Divisional champion Hank Dunn is No. 3 at 132 pounds, but enters one of the strongest brackets in the class with Nathan Weber of Forsyth and Glasgow’s Matt Reyling figuring to be in the running for individual titles.

Eureka’s Jonathan Schmidt fell from No. 1 to third at 160 pounds after suffering an upset in the divisional title match, but Schmidt is still widely considered a favorite to make a run at the 160-pound championship. The Lions’ Gunner Smith enters the state tournament No. 2 at 113.

Colstrip finished runner-up to Glasgow in the Eastern B-C divisional tournament, but the Colts were selected ahead of the Scotties in the final coaches poll. Colstrip wrestlers Jackson Currier (138 pounds), Nakoda Siegel (170) and Merlin Whitedirt (285) are all ranked No. 1 in their respective brackets.

The Colts could see title contenders in Ty Bradley at 152 pounds and Trey Yates at 205. Each is ranked second in their bracket.

Glasgow qualified 14 wrestlers from the divisional tournament, including Reyling at 132. Divisional medalist Colten Fast is No. 3 at 120, while Oden Hallock and Kaden Zimmerman are No. 4 and No. 5 at 126.

Malta, which won the Northern B-C divisional tournament, is led by Kaden Moore and Ceaton Mears. Matthew Middleton, the No. 1 152-pound grappler, leads fifth-ranked Huntley Project into the state tournament. The final weekend of the year begins Friday morning in Billings at Rimrock Auto Arena.

Class C Circle was voted the No. 1 team in its classification, with top-ranked Lincoln Stormer leading the Wildcats at 126 pounds.

Below are the results of the final regular season Class B-C coaches poll.

Team standings

Class B
Huntley Project
Thompson Falls

Class C

Individual standings

103 pounds — Clayton Donally (Huntley Project), Roman Sparks (Thompson Falls), Camron Reilly (Forsyth), Sam Lane (Townsend), Dawson Powers (Whitehall), Krayle Stormer (Circle).

113 pounds — Tanner Cook (Shepherd), Gunner Smith (Eureka), Tristen Kemp (Wolf Point), Dylan Riphenburg (Fairfield), Gavin Horn (Harlem), Matt Connelly (Valier).

120 pounds — Nathan Schmidt (Eureka), Kaleb Frank (Thompson Falls), Colten Fast (Glasgow), Conrad Vanderwall (Plains-Hot Springs), Keagan Thompson (Glasgow), Kyle Durden (Eureka).

126 pounds — Lincoln Stormer (Circle), Daniel Uli (Plains-Hot Springs), Easton Held (Townsend), Oden Hallock (Glasgow), Kaden Zimmerman (Glasgow), Baily Weible (St. Ignatius-Charlo).

132 pounds — Nathan Weber (Forsyth), Matt Reyling (Glasgow), Hank Dunn (Eureka), Josh Vanderwall (Plains-Hot Springs), Rylin Burns (Colstrip), Callen Mears (Malta).

138 pounds — Jackson Currier (Colstrip), Trey Simanton (Malta), Trey Taylor (Circle), Avery Meinzen (Florence-Carlton), Darwin Adams (St. Ignatius-Charlo), Jacob Travis (Jefferson).

145 pounds — Michael Weber (Forsyth), Kaden Moore (Malta), Quinn Whitmus (Wolf Point), Dylan Raihl (Columbus-Absarokee), Wyatt Brusven (Shelby), Sam Schmidt (Huntley Project).

152 pounds — Matthew Middleton (Huntley Project), Ty Bradley (Colstrip), Kameron Rauser (Townsend), Ceaton Mears (Malta), Payton Irvine (Thompson Falls), James Fehr (Eureka).

160 pounds — Dalton Herbst (Baker), Kyler Alm (Florence-Carlton), Jonathan Schmidt (Eureka), Cody Blaede (Colstrip), JR Seewald (Cut Bank), Nate Brunett (Jefferson).

170 pounds — Nakoda Siegel (Colstrip), Jase Soreson (Thompson Falls), Dax Miller (Florence-Carlton), Dylan Nieskens (Glasgow), Sonny Chochern (Shepherd), Dylan Monroe (Valier).

182 pounds — Garrett Graves (Eureka), Spencer Jones (Florence-Carlton), George Shick (Arlee), Wyatt Selman (Huntley Project), Gastav Wenz (Shepherd), Travis Epperson (Malta).

205 pounds — Blaine Buchanan (Huntley Project), Trey Yates (Colstrip), Dakota Irvine (Thompson Falls), Austin Cooper (Thompson Falls), James Slaughter (Choteau), Cooper Larson (Glasgow).

285 pounds — Merlin Whitedirt (Colstrip), Dawson Hoerhauf (Whitehall), Trey Pribbernow (Poplar), Lex Herble (Forsyth), Dakota Daily (Choteau), Sam Johnson (Eureka).