High School Sports


Sidney Eagles No. 1 in Class A wrestling polls; 2 top-ranked individuals

Posted at 3:55 PM, Jan 31, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-06 09:25:57-04

SIDNEY — Guy Melby and Sidney enter the postseason as the top-ranked program in Class A. The latest coaches poll was released this week with the Eagles ahead of five-time defending champion Havre High.

Kaiden Cline, a 103 pounder, and Ryan Horner, a heavyweight, were each voted No. 1 in their weight classes as the Eagles prepare for the weekend’s divisional tournament. Sidney and the rest of the Eastern A programs compete in Belgrade to earn seeds at the state tournament. The 2018 state wrestling tournament begins Feb. 9 in Billings at Rimrock Auto Arena at MetraPark.

Melby, who recently broke the 500 career dual wins threshold, has other top-five wrestlers in Jace Winter (No. 2 at 138 pounds), Kade Graves (No. 2 at 120) and Sawyor Thorgerson (No. 3 at 205). Jett Jones, Jace Johnson, Christian Dean, Trevor Dean, Avery Gurney and Waylon VanBuren were all in the top five as well.

Martin Wilkie and Tyler Schaub continue to guide No. 2 Havre toward a sixth consecutive title. Wilkie is the No. 1-ranked 145-pound wrestler, while Schaub is top-ranked at 205. Cooper and Caleb Birdwell are both No. 1 for Lewistown, which remained No. 3 in the team rankings.

The complete Class A weekly wrestling polls can be found below.

2017-2018 Class A Wrestling
Jan. 31 Coaches’ Poll

Team standings

Columbia Falls

Individual rankings

103 pounds — Kaiden Cline (Sidney), Wyatt Mager (Lewistown), Elo Wasner (Frenchtown), Mick Chagnon (Havre), Magon Cowell (Polson), Rapper McCallister (Ronan).

113 pounds — Cooper Birdwell (Lewistown), Cameron Pleninger (Havre), Walker Dyer (Frenchtown), Buddy Doolin (Libby), R.J. Pierre (Polson), Keelen Robbins (Stevensville).

120 pounds — Jake Bibler (Frenchtown), Kade Graves (Sidney), Spencer Stagg (Ronan), Ryan Stewart (Havre), Mateo Quinones (Polson), Damian Leidholt (Miles City).

126 pounds — Caleb Birdwell (Lewistown), Christian Dean (Sidney), Michael Goldman (Hardin), Owen Brown (Ronan), Keegan Campbell (Laurel), Clay Fisher (Butte Central).

132 pounds — John Mears (Belgrade), Bridger Wenzel (Polson), Lane Paulson (Havre), Tristan Davis (Corvallis), Waylon VanBuren (Sidney), Owen Inderlan (Frenchtown).

138 pounds — Riley Gurr (Frenchtown), Jace Winter (Sidney), Bridger Williams (Hamilton), Victor Houiton (Livingston), Hunter Peterson (Ronan), Jacob Farrier (Polson).

145 pounds — Martin Wilkie (Havre), Cameron Brown (Polson), Ben Stortz (Glendive), Jace Johnson (Sidney), Duane Otto (Lewistown), Blake King (Frenchtown).

152 pounds — Parker Adler (Polson), Bryce Roan (Hardin), Connar Harris (Havre), Mason Fend (Laurel), Brandon Held (Glendive), Riley Waters (Sidney).

160 pounds — Brent Tezak (Dillon), Tyler Capp (Glendive), Jett Jones (Sidney), Mason Dionne (Havre), Avery Gurney (Sidney), Michael Edwards (Frenchtown).

170 pounds — Alex Wickens (Lewistown), Ben Windauer (Columbia Falls), Hunter Fritsch (Polson), Trevor Dean (Sidney), Brendon Roan (Hardin), Cameron Younger (Laurel).

182 pounds — Justin Zier (Hardin), Nelson Crisafulli (Glendive), Colton McFee (Columbia Falls), Wyatt Blythe (Lewistown), Shane Gibson (Livingston), Noah Humphrey (Polson).

205 pounds — Tyler Schaub (Havre), Will Caprata (Hardin), Sawyor Thogerson (Sidney), Jacob Freeman (Columbia Falls), Brady Boyce (Lewistown), Kyle Anderson (Hamilton).

285 pounds — Ryan Horner (Sidney), Taylor Giadave (Columbia Falls), Austin Ratliff (Havre), Jesse Mecham (Frenchtown), Teyler Koski (Columbia Falls), Jesse Murdoch (Hardin).