High School Sports


Bozeman wrestling team wins Tom LeProwse Invitational

Posted at 10:16 PM, Jan 06, 2018

BOZEMAN – The Bozeman Hawks won the prestigious Tom LeProwse wrestling tournament on Saturday, despite having no individual champions in their home invitational. The Hawks amassed 174 points to pull away from Billings Senior (156.5) and Butte (148) to capture the team title.

Five Bozeman grapplers competed in the championship round, but Tayt Rogers fell to Senior’s Alejandro Madrid 4-2 in the 103-pound championship. Fellow Bronc Matthew Dewitt defeated Sterling Quinn in the 120-pound bracket, pinning the Hawk in 4:36.

Leif Schroeder, a defending state champion for Bozeman, was given a loss via injury at 126 pounds, paving the way for Great Falls CMR’s Carter Carroll to win the title.

Forsyth’s Michael Weber edged Chance McLane in the 145-pound championship, earning a 3-1 decision. The Hawks saw Brandon Cooper fall in the 182-pound title match, as Hardin’s Justin Zier picked up an 11-2 major decision.

Defending state champions to earn LeProwse titles Saturday included Butte heavyweight Jeff Queer. The 285-pound senior picked up a 5-3 decision over Colstrip’s Merlin Whitedirt, also a defending state champion.

Three-time state champion Charlie Klepps of Billings Senior kept his impressive season rolling, winning a hard fought 3-1 decision at 132 pounds against Belgrade’s John Mears. Colstrip’s Jackson Currier, another defending state champ, earned an impressive 5-4 decision against Missoula Sentinel’s Cam Hegel at 138 pounds.

Other individual champions Saturday included:
Isaac Romero of Helena High (6-4 decision against Trevin Welzein of Missoula Big Sky)
Jace Rhodes of Billings West (13-5 major decision against Parker Adler of Polson)
Jordan Komac of Great Falls High (3-2 decision over Brent Tezak of Dillon)
Nakoda Siegel of Colstrip (16-6 major decision against Brenden Roan of Hardin
Blaine Buchanan of Huntley Project (11-7 decision against Seth Jensen of Helena Capital)

For complete results and to view the individual brackets of the Tom LeProwse invite, please click here.