High School SportsHigh School Wrestling


Lewistown, Havre surge up latest Class A wrestling poll

Sidney still No. 1
Posted at 3:51 PM, Jan 22, 2020
and last updated 2020-01-22 17:57:48-05

The champs remain No. 1, but there were numerous other shakeups to the latest edition of the Class A wrestling poll, which was released on Wednesday.

Sidney, the defending Class A state champion, held its top spot, but Lewistown moved to No. 2 in the poll behind top-ranked 126-pound wrestler Cooper Birdwell. Golden Eagles Duane Otto II, Keaton Potter and Landon Farrar were each ranked third in their respective weight classes -- 160, 170 and 205 pounds.

Havre High moved into the No. 3 slot, with 152-pound Connor Harris the lone top-ranked wrestler for the Blue Ponies. Havre's Mick Chagnon (113 pounds) was No. 2, as was teammate Orion Thivierge (160). Miles City sits behind Havre as the fourth-ranked team in the class. Heavyweight Tyler Harms leads the charge for the Cowboys.

Sidney is the heavy favorite to repeat in next month's Class A state wrestling tournament in Billings, with six individuals currently ranked No. 1 in their weight classes. Twelve Sidney wrestlers were ranked in this edition of the poll. Zander Dean (113), Everett Jensen (132), Aden Graves (145), Dylan Lutz (160), Riley Waters (182) and Jett Jones (205) each landed in the top spot for Sidney coach Guy Melby.

Frenchtown fell in the latest poll, dropping from No. 2 to fifth, though individuals Landon Stewart (103) and Walker Dyer (120) remain top-ranked. Jake Bibler is second at 126 pounds behind Birdwell, while Zane Schroeder was No. 2 at 132 pounds.

The complete team and individual polls can be found below. Please email any corrections to richie.melby@ktvh.com.

Class A wrestling poll
Week of Jan. 20, 2020

Team poll

1. Sidney
2. Lewistown
3. Havre
4. Miles City
5. Frenchtown
6. Glendive
7. Columbia Falls
8. Polson
9. Laurel
10. Hamilton

Individual polls

103 pounds
1. Landon Stewart, Frenchtown
2. Owen Lonski, Sidney
3. Noah Michaelson, Laurel
4. Andrew Caramody, Hamilton
5. Damen McCord, Lewistown
6. Chris Hall, Browning

113 pounds
1. Zander Dean, Sidney
2. Mick Chagnon, Havre
3. Eli Warner, Frenchtown
4. Justin Windauer, Columbia Falls
5. Braxton Scheeler, Miles City
6. Ivan Lee, Laurel

120 pounds
1. Walker Dyer, Frenchtown
2. Kaiden Cline, Sidney
3. Riley Pleninger, Havre
4. Noah Huffaker, Dillon
5. Kanyon Stoker, Corvallis
6. Maysn Cowell, Polson

126 pounds
1. Cooper Birdwell, Lewistown
2. Jake Bibler, Frenchtown
3. Cameron Pleninger, Havre
4. Jordan Darby, Sidney
5. Kedrick Baker, Polson
6. Jason Davis, Corvallis

132 pounds
1. Everett Jensen, Sidney
2. Zane Schroeder, Frenchtown
3. James Wissenbach, Corvallis
4. Caleb Cheff, Ronan
5. Quentin Campos, Browning
6. Kellen Norman, Polson

138 pounds
1. Cade Gubler, Livingston
2. Damien Leidholt, Miles City
3. Kolton Reid, Sidney
4. Dakota Flannery, Whitefish
5. Keagan Campbell, Laurel
6. John Warner, Frenchtown

145 pounds
1. Aden Graves, Sidney
2. Triston Davis, Corvallis
3. Kaid Campbell, Miles City
4. Keagan Thompson, Laurel
5. Smokey Stoker, Frenchtown
6. Alex Kober, Livingston

152 pounds
1. Connor Harris, Havre
2. Kade Graves, Sidney
3. Bridger Williams, Hamilton
4. Adin Gibson, Livingston
5. Lucas Thacker, Columbia Falls
6. Cody Todd, Billings Central

160 pounds
1. Dylan Lutz, Sidney
2. Orion Thivierge, Havre
3. Duane Otto II, Lewistown
4. Cody Grace, Libby
5. Logan Adler, Polson
6. Jacoby Mattern, Glendive

170 pounds
1. Cooper Hoffman, Dillon
2. Nelson Crisafulli, Glendive
3. Keaton Potter, Lewistown
4. Josh Bartram, Columbia Falls
5. Connor Schwend, Hardin
6. Daniel Collins Bishop, Ronan

182 pounds
1. Riley Waters, Sidney
2. Cameron Younger, Laurel
3. Canyon Shope, Frenchtown
4. Charley Bullcalf, Browning
5. DJ Laycock, Columbia Falls
6. Donald Maurer, Laurel

205 pounds
1. Jett Jones, Sidney
2. Tate Jones, Frenchtown
3. Landon Farrar, Lewistown
4. Cadagen Wheat, Hamilton
5. Aaron O'Roake, Polson
6. Preston Hales, Dillon

285 pounds
1. Tyler Harms, Miles City
2. Brodey Skogen, Sidney
3. Brian Sweeney, Whitefish
4. Tommy Phelps, Columbia Falls
5. Bo Hakert, Billings Central
6. Ayden Williamson, Libby