High School SportsHigh School Wrestling


Glasgow, Circle atop early Class B-C wrestling polls

Posted at 10:20 AM, Dec 13, 2019

Glasgow and Circle, two teams expected to be in contention for the Class B and Class C wrestling team championships this February, landed atop the early wrestling polls this season.

The Scotties, last year's Class B state runner-up, placed a pair of wrestlers in the No. 1 position in their respective weight classes in this week's poll. Colten Fast (132 pounds) and Dylan Nieskens (182) are each top-ranked. Fast won the 126-pound title last winter, while Nieskens was the 170-pound champ. Both figure to be in the running for repeat titles in Billings in February.

Circle, last year's Class C team champion, also saw a pair of wrestlers at No. 1 this week. Krayle Stormer, the Class B-C 103-pound champion a season ago, is No. 1 at 113 pounds. Teammate Cole Becker is top-ranked at 145 pounds. Becker, a junior, placed fourth at 132 pounds as a sophomore.

Eureka sensations Gunnar Smith and Nathan Schmidt, who placed first and second, respectively, last season, rank No. 1 at 126 and 138 pounds. Each is currently up one weight class from last season.

Cut Bank and Colstrip were the other two programs to have two wrestlers at No. 1 in this week's polls. The Wolves' Andrew Anderson (152) and Austin Vanek (160) have high expectations this season, while the Colts' Rylin Burns (170) and Trey Yates (285) are both defending champions.

The complete polls can be found below. Please report any spelling errors to richie.melby@ktvh.com.

Class B-C wrestling

Team polls

Class B
1. Glasgow
2. St. Ignatius-Charlo
3. Huntley Project
4. Townsend
5. Whitehall
6. Thompson Falls
7. Cut Bank
8. Eureka
9. Colstrip
10. Columbus-Absarokee

Class C
1. Circle
2. Alberton-Superior
3. Cascade

Individual polls

103 pounds
1. Gavin Nedens, Huntley Project
2. Nathan Blodnik, Anaconda
3. Guy Williams, Columbus-Absarokee
4. Ryder Hanson, Alberton-Superior
5. Leo Anderson, Jefferson
6. Kody Dilland, St. Ignatius-Charlo

113 pounds
1. Krayle Stormer, Circle
2. Parker Craig, Huntley Project
3. Christian Davis, Jefferson
4. Lily Grismer, Cascade
5. Michael Reiff, Whitehall
6. Shilow McKay, Poplar

120 pounds
1. Tanner Cook, Columbus-Absarokee
2. Tugg Taylor, Circle
3. Jase Frederick, Poplar
4. Cody St. Clair, Jefferson
5. Bryson Bartleson, Circle
6. Dawson Powers, Whitehall

126 pounds
1. Gunnar Smith, Eureka
2.Trae Thilmony, Thompson Falls
3. Walker Murphy, St. Ignatius-Charlo
4. Ashton Christman, Huntley Project
5. Jacob Miers, Glasgow
6. Dayne Sullivan, Simms

132 pounds
1. Colten Fast, Glasgow
2. Kyle Durden, Eureka
3. Roman Sparks, Thompson Falls
4. Riley Richtmyer, Townsend
5. Mike Wilkinson, Whitehall
6. Roper Mycke, Conrad

138 pounds
1. Nathan Schmidt, Eureka
2. Clayton Donally, Huntley Project
3. Easton Held, Townsend
4. Matt Larson, Cut Bank
5. Elijah Ratliff, Thompson Falls
6. Devon Nesbitt, Baker

145 pounds
1. Cole Becker, Circle
2. Hunter Reum, Poplar
3. Isaac DuMontier, St. Ignatius-Charlo
4. Zach Valdez, Colstrip
5. Wesley Buchanan, Alberton-Superior
6. Blake Zimmerman, Huntley Project

152 pounds
1. Andrew Anderson, Cut Bank
2. Darwin Adams, St. Ignatius-Charlo
3. Dawson Buckalew, Colstrip
4. Riley Forcella, Whitehall
5. Garrett Pruttis, Chinook
6. Wylee Lindeen, Huntley Project

160 pounds
1. Austin Vanek, Cut Bank
2. Kaden Zimmerman, Glasgow
3. Callan Mears, Malta
4. Ty Steele, Townsend
5. Kyler Hallock, Glasgow
6. Cyrus Richardson, Manhattan

170 pounds
1. Rylin Burns, Colstrip
2. Isaiah Alik, St. Ignatius-Charlo
3. Caden Crowell, Cascade
4. Will Lane, Townsend
5. Padden Vanattan, Forsyth
6. William Loveridge, Huntley Project

182 pounds
1. Dylan Nieskens, Glasgow
2. Nate Gorham, Shepherd
3. Kyler Alm, Florence
4. Trey Green, Alberton-Superior
5. Stran Selman, Huntley Project
6. Mason Garfield, Wolf Point

205 pounds
1. Dakota Irvine, Thompson Falls
2. Lane Hinderager, Simms
3. Brett Monroe, Valier
4. Chanden Vulles, Alberton-Superior
5. Jacob Berger, Poplar
6. Copper Larson, Glasgow

285 pounds
1. Trey Yates, Colstrip
2. Journey Grimsrud, Huntley Project
3. Mayson Phipps, Glasgow
4. Reubin Swenson, Chester-Joplin-Inverness
5. Jadon Lamb, Townsend
6. Chase Hould, Huntley Project