High School SportsHigh School Wrestling


Colstrip's Trey Yates, St. Ignatius's Isaiah Allik surge to No. 1 spots in Class B-C wrestling poll

Posted at 3:15 PM, Jan 09, 2020

There wasn't much movement in the latest Class B-C wrestling poll, but a pair of names have surged to the top spot in their respective weight class.

Colstrip's Trey Yates, a champion in 2019, grabbed the top ranking at 285 pounds. He lept over Glasgow's Mayson Phipps and Huntley Project's Journey Grimsrud. Yates is one of two top-ranked Colstrip wrestlers, joining Rylin Burns, who sits first at 160 pounds.

St. Ignatius wrestler Isaiah Allik has moved to the top of the 170 pound class after being third in the last poll. Allik surpassed Townsend's Will Lane, who is currently in second.

Glasgow still sits atop the team rankings, followed by Huntley Project and Townsend. The Scotties have three wrestlers at the top of their weight class - Colten Fast (132), defending champion Nylan Nieskens (182) and Cooper Larsen (205).

Huntley Project has just one top-wranked wrestler, and that's Gavin Nedens at 103 pounds. The Red Devils do have severl ranked wrestlers, though, including Parker Craig, who is second at 113 pounds,William Loveridge, who is third at 170 pounds, Stran Selman, who is fourth at 182 pounds, and Journey Grimsrud, who is second at 285 pounds.

Circle is the top Class C team, with Superior and Cascade rounding out the top three. Circle's Krayle Stormer is the top-wranked wrestler at 113 pounds and Tugg Tayler is third at 120 pounds.

The complete polls can be found below.

Class B-C wrestling poll
Week of January 6, 2020

Team polls

Class B
1. Glasgow
2. Huntley Project
3. Townsend
4. Colstrip
5. Whitehall
6. Cut Bank
7. Columbus-Absarokee
8. St. Ignatius
9. Eureka
10. Thompson Falls

Class C
1. Circle
2. Superior
3. Cascade

Individual polls

103 pounds
1. Gavin Nedens, Huntley Project
2. Nathan Blodnik, Anaconda
3. Ryder Hansen, Alberton-Superior
4. Brandin Murphy, Cut Bank
5. Guy Williams, Columbus-Absarokee
6. Leo Anderson, Jefferson

113 pounds
1. Krayle Stormer, Circle
2. Parker Craig, Huntley Project
3. Robbie Burns, Colstrip
4. Miguel Ramos, Fairfield
5. Wyatt Hood, Columbus
6. Christian Davis, Jefferson

120 pounds
1. Tanner Cook, Columbus-Absarokee
2. Trae Thilmony, Thompson Falls
3. Tugg Taylor, Circle
4. Dawson Powers, Whitehall
5. Weston Timberman, Columbus-Absarokee
6. Cody St. Claire, Jefferson

126 pounds
1. Gunner Smith, Eureka
2. Roper Mycke, Conrad
3. Walker Murphy, St. Ignatius-Charlo
4. Cooper Cook, Columbus-Absarokee
5. Cameron Reilly, Forsyth
6. Harold Miller, Shelby

132 pounds
1. Colsten Fast, Glasgow
2. Kyle Durden, Eureka
3. Riley Richtmyer, Townsend
4. Mike Wilkinson, Whitehall
5. Brady Ellison, Columbus-Absarokee
6. Roman Sparks, Thompson Falls

138 pounds
1. Nathan Schmidt, Eureka
2. Easton Held, Townsend
3. Conrad Vanderwall, Plains
4. Canyon Casterline, Circle
5. Matt Larsen, Cut Bank
6. Forest Fairbanks, Manhattan

145 pounds
1. Cole Becker, Circle
2. Isaac DuMontier, St. Ignatius-Charlo
3. Dallen Hoover, Whitehall
4. Dawson Buckalew, Colstrip
5. Ron Barnhill, Conrad
6. Wes Buchanan, Alberton-Superior

152 pounds
1. Andrew Anderson, Cut Bank
2. Darwin Adams, St. Ignatius
3. Hank Dunn, Eureka
4. Kaden Zimmerman, Glasgow
5. Riley Forcella, Whitehall
6. Klause Rauser, Townsend

160 pounds
1. Rylin Burns, Colstrip
2. Austin Vanek, Cut Bank
3. Callen Mears, Malta
4. Ty Steele, Townsend
5. Kyler Hallock, Glasgow
6. Miles Hoerhauf, Whitehall

170 pounds
1. Isaiah Allik, St. Ignatius
2. Will Lane, Townsend
3. William Loveride, Huntley Project
4. Cylar Taylor, White Sulphur Springs
5. Caden Crowell, Cascade
6. Camron Brusven, Shelby

182 pounds
1. Dylan Nieskens, Glasgow
2. Kyler Alm, Florence
3. Nate Gorham, Shepherd
4. Stran Selman, Huntley Project
5. Trey Green, Alberton-Superior
6. Teegan Shafer, Deer Lodge

205 pounds
1. Cooper Larson, Glasgow
2. Dakota Irvine, Thompson Falls
3. Brett Monroe, Valier
4. Kolter Bouma, Fairfield
5. Jadon Lamb, Townsend
6. Chandon Vulles, Alberton-Superior

285 pounds
1. Trey Yates, Colstrip
2. Journey Grimsrud, Huntley Project
3. Mayson Phipps, Glasgow
4. Carter Beer, Columbus-Absarokee
5. Jacob Iapinski, Alberton-Superior
6. Chase Hould, Huntley Project