CollegeFrontier Conference


Brianna King named NAIA player of the year

Posted at 9:51 PM, Mar 12, 2019

(Editor’s note: Women’s Basketball Coaches Association press release)

ATLANTA, Georgia – Brianna King of the University of Montana Western is the 2019 WBCA NAIA Player of the Year and headlines the 2019 WBCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America team, announced today by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

King helped lead the Bulldogs to a 25-4 record this season. She averaged 22.2 points per game and was named the Frontier Conference Player of the Week six times. Last season she was a first team NAIA All-American and led the Bulldogs to their first NAIA Tournament semifinals appearance. She set a school record by scoring 40 points in an NAIA Tournament quarterfinals game and ended the season sixth in the nation in scoring. King was named Frontier Conference Player of the Year and Frontier Conference Newcomer of the Year after transferring to UMW following two seasons at Community Colleges of Spokane.

The WBCA presents the Player of the Year award annually to the top player in five of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions II, and III, NAIA, two-year college and high school). The Player of the Year and the 10-member Coaches’ All-America team in each division are selected by a committee of WBCA member coaches in that division. The Wade Trophy is presented to the best player in NCAA Division I.

“The WBCA is pleased to name Brianna King as the 2019 WBCA NAIA Player of the Year,”” said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. “Brianna has played an integral role in guiding her team to an extraordinary season and is very deserving of this distinguished honor. The WBCA applauds Brianna for her hard work, dedication and contributions to the game.”

Here are the 2019 WBCA NCAA NAIA Coaches’ All-Americans:

  • Kendall Bradbury, Taylor University
  • Kelsie Cleeton, College of The Ozarks
  • Bailey Cummins, Shawnee State University
  • Vivian Holcomb, University of Science & Arts of Oklahoma
  • Brianna King, University of Montana Western
  • Philomena Lammers, Concordia University (Nebraska)
  • Abby Selzer, Oklahoma City University
  • Stephanie Soares, The Master’s University
  • Myah Taylor, Bethel University (Tennessee)
  • Reagan Turner, Lindsey Wilson College