CollegeFrontier Conference


Day 1: Frontier Conference volleyball tournament

Posted at 11:13 PM, Nov 09, 2018

BUTTE – Day 1 of the 2018 Frontier Conference volleyball tournament began Friday with the fifth-seeded Carroll College playing fourth-seeded Lewis-Clark State.

The L-C State Warriors came out hot in the first two sets. Rachel Gregg recorded 14 kills in the three-set match. Carroll was led by big plays from Morgan Christy and Rayna Pilgeram. The Saints lost the first two sets 25-18 and 25-17, but in Set 3 they held a lead for a couple of volleys. However, the Warriors were too strong, and they came back and won Set 3 by a score of 25-21. With the sweep the Saints’ season is done. The Warriors, meanwhile, will meet top-seeded Rocky Mountain College in Saturday’s semifinal round.

Game 2 of the day featured No. 2-seed University of Providence versus No. 7-seed Montana State-Northern. The Argos were clicking right out of the gates. Huge blocks at the net, combined with great offensive production from Lauren Brown, Tymerie Vincelli, and Sydney Anderson put Northern in a lot of tough spots. The Argos cruised to a 25-17, 25-16, 25-23 sweep.

In Friday’s final match, the sixth-seeded Montana Western Bulldogs squared off against the No. 3-seed Montana Tech. Maybe it was the home-court advantage, but it seemed like the Diggers couldn’t do no wrong all game long. Heather Thompson and Masha Korol lit it up on offense and defense for Tech, and the Bulldogs had no response. Montana Tech won 25-8, 25-10, 25-20 and will face Providence in a Saturday semifinal match.

Frontier Conference volleyball tournament schedule

No. 1 Rocky Mountain College receives first-round bye


No. 4 Lewis-Clark State def. No. 5 Carroll College 25-18, 25-17, 25-21
No. 2 University of Providence def. No. 7 MSU-Northern 25-17, 25-16, 25-23
No. 3 Montana Tech def. No. 6 Montana Western 25-8, 25-10, 25-20


11 a.m.: No. 1 Rocky Mountain College vs. No. 4 Lewis-Clark State, semifinal
1 p.m.: No. 2 University of Providence vs. No. 3 Montana Tech, semifinal
7 p.m.: Semifinal winners, championship