CollegeFrontier Conference


Carroll College’s Ryan Imhoff a finalist for Bevo Francis Award

Posted at 10:50 AM, Apr 01, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-05 15:56:09-04

(Editor’s note: Carroll College athletics release)

BALDWIN CITY, Kan. – Carroll College forward Ryan Imhoff was named a finalist for the Small College Basketball Bevo Francis Award Saturday by SCB with a video presentation between the NCAA Final Four games. The award highlights the player of the year among the 1,100 college basketball teams that are affiliated in NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA.

Imhoff, who already captured NAIA DI NABC Player of the Year honors, is one of 13 finalists for the award.

“As you watch the video of the Finalists for the 2018 Bevo Francis Award, you will see and hear about the remarkable seasons from each of the 13 Finalists,” Small College Basketball founder John McCarthy said. “You will hear about highly impressive milestones reached, records broken, awards received, and about remarkable statistical achievements.”

Imhoff was dominant all season, averaging 19.8 points per game, 7.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists, 2.4 steals and 1.0 blocks per game, all team highs. He was No. 2 in NAIA DI in steals, eighth in total scoring and 15th in points per game. He ranked in the NAIA DI Top 50 in nine other statistical categories.

He scored double figures in all but one game all season and hit the 30-point mark three times, including a 30-point performance in the opening round of the NAIA DI National Championship against Lindsey Wilson and their lineup that includes a 6-foot-11 forward and a 7-foot-0 center.

On top of his strong statistics, he was also a team captain, a leader in the locker room and in the classroom where he is a chemistry major.

The 13 Finalists in no particular order are:

Zach Hankins, Ferris State
Kyle Steigenga, Cornerstone
Justin Reyes, STAC
Justin Pitts, NW MO State
Emanuel Terry, Lincoln Memorial
Tanner Omlid, Western Oregon
Jake Ross, Springfield
Tyheim Monroe, Cabrini
Ryan Imhoff, Carroll
Deion McClenton, Keiser
David Chavlovich, West Texas A&M
Dustin Sleva, Shippensburg
Haywood Highsmith, Wheeling Jesuit

The 2018 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 2, but for the first time, the award will be presented to the award winner on May 19 at the newly created National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association’s Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri.