CollegeFrontier Conference


20 Frontier Conference women’s basketball players recognized as scholar athletes

Posted at 10:16 AM, Mar 20, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-06 09:39:20-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2017-18 Daktronic-NAIA Women’s Basketball Scholar Athletes. Twenty athletes from the Frontier Conference, including 11 Treasure State natives, were honored on the list.

Montana Tech led the league with five selections: Kaylynn Coverdell, Kourtney Coverdell, Bailey Armbruster, Hannah Sparks and Adriane Horne. This is the second time on the list for the Coverdells and Armbruster.

Four athletes from MSU-Northern met the standards for the scholar athlete honors. Havre natives Brandy Lambourne and Peyton Filius joined Townsend’s Jacy Thompson on the list. Kealani Sagapolu of Plain City, Utah was also selected.

Carroll College, Montana Western and Lewis-Clark State each had a trio of representatives on the scholar list. Former Gardiner standout Hannah Dean was joined by Billings’ Mikaela Robinson and Nampa, Idaho’s Bailey Pasta for the Fighting Saints, who advanced to a second consecutive national tournament.

Western, which saw its season end Monday in the NAIA Fab Four, placed Montanans Sierra Bignell, Britt Cooper and Cierra Lamey on the academic award list. LCSC had Jossilyn Blackman, Hailey Turner and Lauren Johnson earn scholar athlete status.

Havre’s Molly Herron and teammate Stephanie McDonagh earned the recognition for the University of Providence.

In order to be nominated by an institution, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended two full years as a non-transfer or one full year as a transfer.

To view the complete list of NAIA women’s basketball scholar athletes, please click here. (Note: Montana Tech’s Kourtney Coverdell was accidentally left off of the original release from the NAIA.)