CollegeFrontier Conference


Carroll College’s Imhoff named to Bevo Francis Top 25 watch list

Posted at 4:39 PM, Mar 18, 2018

(Editor’s note: Carroll College athletics release)

BALDWIN CITY, Kan. – Ryan Imhoff’s season and tremendous career may have come to a close Friday evening in Kansas City, but the senior forward continues to collect accolades. Imhoff was named to the Small College Basketball Bevo Francis Award Top-25 Watch List.

“Once again, limiting the Bevo Francis Watch List to 25 players from all of small college basketball has been incredibly difficult,” said SCB Founder John McCarthy. “We really leaned on our criteria for the award, including team success, individual statistics, awards, milestones and each player’s comprehensive season. Our committee has provided a great amount of information and insight to this process.

“On behalf of our committee and all of those involved with the Bevo FrancisAward, I sincerely congratulate all 25 finalists for the 2018 Bevo FrancisAward, which is considered the most prestigious award for current players in all of Small College Basketball.”

Imhoff closed out his season with 674 points for an average of 19.8 PPG. He also averaged a team-high 7.2 rebounds per game 3.71 assists per game, 2.44 steals per game and 1.0 blocks per game.

He closed the season second in total steals, fourth in steals per game and seventh in total scoring in the NAIA DI rankings.

He closes his career with 1,953 points, fourth on the Carroll all-time list. He scored 30 points in Carroll’s NAIA Championship opening round win against Lindsey Wilson (Ky.).

Imhoff is one of three NAIA DI players on the list, including Stevie Clark of LSU-Shreveport and Lawrence Russell of The Master’s.

The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

This marks the third annual Bevo Francis Award, as the award was previously given to Dominez Burnett of Davenport (Mich.) in 2016 and Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri State in 2017.

The finalists of this award will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on March 31.

The 2018 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 2, but for the first time, the award will be presented to the award winner on May 19 at the newly created National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association’s Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri.

Small College Basketball is very grateful to the University of Rio Grande and Sheward-Fulks Insurance for their sponsorship and support of the Bevo Francis award.