CollegeFrontier Conference


Rocky Mountain College men, Carroll College women win Frontier Conference XC titles

Frontier Conference logo
Posted at 8:42 PM, Nov 06, 2020

HAVRE -- Jackson Wilson and Elijah Boyd finished first and second to help Rocky Mountain College to the men's team title at the Frontier Conference cross country championships at Prairie Farms Golf Course on Saturday, and Reghan Worley led a dominant Carroll College performance in the women's race.

Wilson crossed the finish line in 26 minutes, 18.80 seconds to take top honors in the men's race. Boyd was second at 26:36.10, and he was followed by Montana State-Northern's Field Soosloff (26:42.90), Montana Western's Matt Wilson (26:53.10) and Carroll College's James Normandeau (27:04.30) to round out the top five.

The Battlin' Bears finished with 40 total places, also getting an eight-place finish from Joseph Vanden Bos, an 11th-place finish from George Beddow and an 18th-place finish from Nicolas Piliero.

Carroll's men placed second with 45 places, as Connor O'Hara (sixth) and Zach Rector (ninth) added top-10 finishes. MSU-Northern was third in the team standings, with Montana Western in fourth and Montana Tech in fifth.

Worley paced the Carroll women, crossing the finish line in 19:07.50. The Saints placed four other runners in the top 12 to cruise to the women's title with just 34 places. Natalie Yocum (19:36.00), Elly MacHado (19:39.50), Kendyl Pierson (19:41.90) and Mckenna Bomengen (20:18.90) finished sixth, seventh, eighth and 12th for Carroll.

Montana Western's Eireann O'Connor was second overall at 19:10.00, and Montana Tech's Becca Richtman was third at 19:13.10. Rocky Mountain College's Mei-Li Stevens and Sydney Little Light were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Western's women placed second, just ahead of Rocky. Montana Tech and MSU-Northern were fourth and fifth in the team standings.

The Rocky men's team and Carroll women's team automatically qualify for the NAIA 2020-21 national championships, which are scheduled for April 9, 2021 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Individual runners who placed in the top 15 but are not on the championship team are also eligible for consideration as automatic or at-large entrants for the national meet. Click here for complete men's results and here for the women's results.