CollegeFrontier Conference


Providence's Zaccheus Darko-Kelly repeats as Frontier Conference player of the year

Zaccheus Darko-Kelly
Posted at 8:12 PM, Mar 03, 2021
and last updated 2021-03-03 22:17:03-05

After winning the Frontier Conference regular-season and tournament championships, the University of Providence men's basketball team received a number of accolades from the league on Wednesday.

For the second consecutive year, University of Providence guard Zaccheus Darko-Kelly was named the Frontier Conference player of the year. Darko-Kelly averaged 19.1 points per game on 47% shooting from the field, and also grabbed 9.1 rebounds and dished out 5.4 assists per game. Argos head coach Steve Keller was honored as the coach of the year.

Keller's Providence squad added a pair of additional all-conference selections, as junior guard Marcus Stephens was named first-team all-conference and junior big man Jaxen Hashley of Kalispell was named second-team all-conference.

Stephens was also selected as the Frontier Conference newcomer of the year. Carroll College's Ifeanyi Okeke and Providence's Davien Harris-Williams were selected as co-sixth man of the year.

Carroll College junior guard Shamrock Campbell was selected the defensive player of the year, while Montana Western's Michael Haverfield and Montana Tech's Bridger Larson split freshman of the year honors.

The complete Frontier Conference all-conference teams are below.

All-conference first team

Shamrock Campbell -, Carroll College, 6-1, Jr., G, Spokane, Wash.
Jovan Sljivancanin +, Carroll College, 6-5, Jr., G, Belgrade, Serbia
Mascio McCadney +, MSU-Northern, 6-3, Sr., G, Detroit, Mich.
Sindou Diallo ^, Montana Tech, 6-3, Sr., G, Tacoma, Wash.
Zaccheus Darko-Kelly, University of Providence, 6-6, Sr., G, Great Falls, Mont.
Marcus Stephens, University of Providence, 6-3, Jr., G, Tacoma, Wash.

All-conference second team

David Harris, MSU-Northern, 6-4, Sr., G/F, Tacoma, Wash.
Taylor England #^, Montana Tech, 6-7, Sr., F/C, Helena, Mont.
Max Clark, Montana Western, 6-3, Sr., G, Lawrenceville, Ga.
Jalen Hodges, Montana Western, 6-4, Sr., G/F, Duluth. Ga.
Jaxen Hashley, University of Providence, 6-7, Jr., P, Kalispell, Mont.

All-conference honorable mention

Dennis Flowers III, Carroll College, 6-2, So., G Woodland Hills, Calif.
Maxim Stephens, Rocky Mountain, 6-8, So., F Hamilton, New Zealand

^ 2019-2020 First Team Selection
+ 2019-2020 Second Team Selection
~ 2019-2020 Honorable Mention Selection
* 2018-2019 First Team Selection
# 2018-2019 Second Team Selection
^ 2018-2019 Honorable Mention

Champions of character

Shamrock Campbell, Carroll College, 6-1, Jr., G, Spokane, Wash.
T.J. Reynolds, MSU-Northern, 6-6, So., F, Shelby, Mont.
Cody Liles, Montana Tech, 6-4, Jr., F, Florence, Mont.
Tanner Haverfield, Montana Western, 6-4, Jr., G, Dillon, Mont.
Beau Santistevan, Rocky Mountain, 6-7, Jr., F Big Fork, Mont.
Dawson Fowler, University of Providence, 6-2, So., G, Belgrade, Mont.