CollegeFrontier Conference


Providence's Kelsey Shaver named Frontier Conference volleyball player of year

Tech's Brian Solomon coach of year
Kelsey Shaver
Posted at 6:51 PM, Nov 18, 2019

WHITEFISH -- University of Providence outside hitter Kelsey Shaver was named the Frontier Conference volleyball player of the year Monday, while Montana Tech head coach Brian Solomon earned league coach of the year honors.

Shaver led the Argos to the Frontier Conference tournament championship for a second-consecutive season, lifting the program to its second NAIA championships appearance. Providence was announced as the No. 17-seeded team in the upcoming tournament.

Solomon collected the league's coach of the year honor for the third time in his eight years at the helm. Tech finished 9-3 in conference play and was the runners-up in the tournament championship. Tech will join Providence in the NAIA championships in Sioux City, Iowa.

Tech's Maureen Jessop was named the freshman of the year, while Rocky Mountain College's Natalie Hilderman was setter of the year.

Tori Edwards of Lewis-Clark State was named the newcomer of the year.

Providence, Rocky and Tech each landed three athletes on the first-team all-conference list, while Carroll College and Lewis-Clark State each added a pair of players.

The Frontier Conference's postseason accolades can be found below.

2019 Frontier Conference volleyball

Player of the year -- Kelsey Shaver, University of Providence
Setter of the year -- Natalie Hilderman, Rocky Mountain College
Newcomer of the year -- Tori Edwards, Lewis-Clark State
Freshman of the year -- Maureen Jessop, Montana Tech
Coach of the year -- Brian Solomon, Montana Tech

First-team all-conference

Taelyr KrantzCarroll CollegeSo.MHHelena, Mont.
Lexi MikkelsenCarroll CollegeSo.OHNine Mile Falls, Wash.
Tori EdwardsLewis-Clark State CollegeSo.RSTwin Falls, Idaho
Brooke KaawaLewis-Clark State CollegeSr.OHMoanalua, Hawaii
Sabrina HopcroftMontana TechSr.LFlorence, Mont.
Maureen JessopMontana TechFr.OHCorvallis, Mont.
Karina MickelsonMontana TechJr.OHLaguna Niguel, Calif.
Miranda GallagherRocky Mountain CollegeJr.MBLead, S.D.
Natalie HildermanRocky Mountain CollegeJr.SRed Lodge, Mont.
Daniella RussellRocky Mountain CollegeSr.OHRed Lodge, Mont.
Averi DyerUniversity of ProvidenceSr.LKalama, Wash.
Kelsey ShaverUniversity of ProvidenceSr.OHScotts Valley, Calif.
Tyna WilliamUniversity of ProvidenceSr.MBCastries, Saint Lucia

Second-team all-conference

Ayla CarpenterCarroll CollegeSr.LGraham, Wash.
Aliyah WilliamsCarroll CollegeSo.SCoeur d'Alene, Idaho
Gionni BrownLewis-Clark State CollegeSr.LPhoenix, Ariz.
Rylee BurmesterMSU-NorthernJr.OHStar Valley, Wyo.
McKenna KaelberMontana TechFr.SPasco, Wash.
Gena McMillianMontana TechJr.OHHuntington, Calif.
Jensyn TurnerUniversity of ProvidenceJr.RSPayson, Utah

All-conference freshmen team

Katherine McEuenCarroll CollegeFr.RSSpokane, Wash.
Sophia SpojaCarroll CollegeFr.MHPuyallup, Wash.
Carli BernstsonLewis-Clark State CollegeFr.RSCedar Hills, Utah
Maureen JessopMontana TechFr.OHCorvallis, Mont.
McKenna KaelberMontana TechFr.SPasco, Wash.
Ayla EmbryRocky Mountain CollegeFr.LBozeman, Mont.

Champions of character

Jenna StarkeCarroll CollegeSr.MHHelena, Mont.
Morgan NessLewis-Clark State CollegeJr.OHSpokane Valley, Wash.
Hailey WarrenMSU-NorthernSr.SHelena, Mont.
Kamaile MoodyMontana TechJr.SPasco, Wash.
Tannah SellersMontana WesternJr.LEden, Idaho
Naomi Big BearRocky Mountain CollegeSr.OHBillings, Mont.
Ember SchwindtUniversity of ProvidenceJr.MBThompson Falls, Mont.